Day 13 off to Hoptown - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2018

Day 13 off to Hoptown

Brooks Kentucky to Corps of Engineers Campground Rough River


Bob ran me out of town, not really in the way it sounds. He gave me a ride to Brooks Kentucky, so I wouldn't have to deal with all the rush hour City traffic in Louisville. First 35 miles were great ,nice and flat made pretty good time then it got a little bit more rolling which compared to the Appalachians was nothing. When I was about 10 miles from where I was going, I had a flat tire first one for the trip hopefully last one. While I was changing tire you could hear the thunder roll and you can see the clouds building up, I thought I could make it to the campground but that didn't happen. I got hit with a torrential thunderstorm, the rain really didn't bother me although it was really really heavy it was the thunder and lightning that I'm worried about. I was able to take cover underneath the overhang of somebody's garage, then they came home, and they opened the garage and let me sit in the garage for an hour and a half till the most of the Thunder quit and I was able to ride up to the campground stayed in another Corps of Engineers Campground it was interesting setup they put all the tent campers on top of this hill It was a little interesting getting up there on the bike ,as it was a pretty steep hill. Slept great, as soon as it was dark I was in bed I was one tired puppy.

Oh scary
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are the Sinister tombs
Heart 0 Comment 0
So much for a slime tube
Heart 1 Comment 0
The rain from my refuge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 657 miles (1,057 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0