S1: 长丰 - I Don't Have A Fatty Liver - CycleBlaze

February 28, 2024

S1: 长丰

In which I discover that out of province domestic tour groups traveling by bus is still a thing
Heart 0 Comment 0

For the last umpety many years, I've been labeling each riding day of my journal entries as "D whatever: place name → place name."

If I'm counting down to a departure, it's "T - number".

Work days and weather days are both W but, as I usually have one or two ongoing projects that can be picked up at the drop of a hat, those days where the weather is bad enough that I'm deciding not to ride because of the weather are most likely going to turn out to be working days.

R is for rest days.

Sleeping this much is a bit of of character for me
Heart 0 Comment 0

I is for interludes taken where I don't need the rest, I (probably) don't have work, and I'm off doing something that's definitely not biking for a few days in a row.

And then, there's the almost never seen "S" for sick day. Because, while I may end up a bit under the weather while cycling, I'm usually pretty good at pacing myself when starting to feel bad and resting before I actually get sick enough to need to not ride.

Had to pay 95 for the second night, no discounts
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now, I suppose I could have ridden today. At least the first few times I rolled over and went back to sleep, it felt more like a "I don't want to" than "I can't". Sure, the nearly disappeared rattle in my chest had turned into me constantly coughing up very small amounts of phlegm (interspersed with those wonderful dry heaves my body likes to do whenever my post nasal drip is tickling the back of my throat), but I've done things at least as stupid as that and lived to tell the tale.

However, being as the smartwatch records me as having eventually slept 17 whole hours, I think it's safe to say that I needed to not be on the road today.

Borrowing the hotel kitchen's equipment in order to cut my pineapple
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSure can't buy them here in Ohio that ripe!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0