Day 3 - Tudanca to Potes [photos now!] - Land of the Rabbits - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2023

Day 3 - Tudanca to Potes [photos now!]

Heart 0 Comment 0

Well that was a very tough day. I'm glad I didn't go further the previous night: there was no water, and once exiting the forest the track was very rough and stony indeed. I got through ok but I did fall and twist my ankle - it feels ok but really is quite swolen - hopefully will be fine to continue. 

The water situation drove me a little mad. In the end I tried to scoop water up from a farmer's reservoir, which was like a big cylindrical thing 8ft tall with an open top and pretty fresh water inside. I hoisted myself up but then dropped the water bottle in - and couldn't retrieve it.  I also scratched my arms a bit clambering on the rough concrete. What an idiot!

This is the sort of surface we were dealing with
Heart 1 Comment 0
The infamous giant water vat, which I scratched up my bare arms trying to climb and then lost my sodding water bottle within
Heart 1 Comment 0
At one point the track disappeared completely
Heart 2 Comment 0

The views however were mind-blowing

Nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh do go on
Heart 3 Comment 0
Come on now, that's just silly
Heart 2 Comment 0
You're showing the rest of the continent up now
Heart 2 Comment 0

After another rattly descent I got to Tudanca which of course had a fountain (and a cemetery tap).  Originally I planned another off-road stretch, but I was truly done with that today, so instead took my original idea of the road, which lead right up to the pass and the border with Castille and Leon. This was a long climb, and capped out at 1250m at the pass. All the way up I was passed by cycle racers going the other way - I'd say 75% of which shouted a greeting or encouragement as they went passed. At least I assume it was encouragement - it might have been Spanish for "look at this dork".

Ravine road covered to catch rockfalls
Heart 3 Comment 0
Climbing up to the level of this dam was pretty epic
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cycle racers!
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the pass it was pretty much all descent to Potes. I covered the same distance as I had up to 2pm in about an hour in a very smooth and fun descent. 

At 1250m I thought this was a high pass. I didn't know what lay ahead..
Heart 2 Comment 0

I headed out of Potes (up a steep hill) and found a really fantastic campsite. Just had a swim in the pool, got a water bottle I can use - and will hit the restaurant bar later.

Fun windmill building
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just the best campsite
Heart 2 Comment 0

A bit worried about crossing the Picos tomorrow - it will be a climb up to 1,400+ m and partly off-road. I may need to take another day (and be prepared to camp up there).

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 277 km (172 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0