Day 82 - still at Medora, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Day 82 - still at Medora, ND

It was still raining gently this morning when I got up at 7:50am. Finally got another day posted to the journal.

Walked to town at 10:40am for breakfast at The Farmhouse Cafe. I expected the cafe to be a cozy little place with pictures of chickens on the wall. Well the walls were pretty bare and the counter I sat at was polished stainless steel. So much for assumptions. But the meal was good and filled me up.

After breakfast I walked over to Theodore Roosevelt National Park Visitor Center. I watched the video they show, then toured their museum. I also talked some with the park workers, and was happy to find out that the road I'm leaving Medora on, when I finally leave, is paved through the park area. Though, I can already see it's an uphill start.

On my way back to the campsite I stopped at Sheriff Bear's Burgers and Ice Cream for a root beer float. It was one of those that you put together yourself, so I had root beer leftover for drinking this afternoon.

Because of the rain, I was once again hanging out under the porch by the office. Walter, a fellow camper was there and we got to talking. Walter has interesting stories about the adventures he and his wife have been on. They had lived in Florida, but now live in their motorhome. Very helpful to me was that Walter knew all the best places to see in Medora that have no entrance fees. Later I got to meet his wife. She had a map of Medora which they gave me. So one of my plans for tomorrow is spend a few hours seeing what else there is to see.

Chris, the campground worker, in his raincoat and on his bicycle was still helping campers get parked. This wasn't much fun for him, considering the wet and the cold. He paused for a picture, but said this is as much of a smile as I was going to get from him today.

There was a guitar playing musician performing when I showed up my first night here. Going on 5:00pm today, he was setting up again. His name is Carey, but he's also known as Country Cadillac, a handle left over from his CB radio days. So his wife Dawn and I sat down to listen. He plays old time songs that all have stories in them. Some of them were new to me, though they are old songs.

Nearing 6:00pm, I told him I was going to head off to supper. So with jacket and cap, I walked over to Boots Bar and Grill for their pulled pork sandwich with French fries. It wasn't raining when I walked back. I sat down for more music listening until 8:00pm. Sent off my evening report to family and friends, then went to bed with rain once again falling on the tent.

Jeff

Spent: $42 (campsite) + $20.91 plus $4.18 (breakfast) + $3 (Theodore Roosevelt National Park Visitor Center donation) + $5.11 plus $1 (root beer float) + $10 (Country Cadillac tip) + $20.43 plus $4 (supper) = $110.63

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Walter - shared helpful information
Heart 4 Comment 0
Chris - campsite guide
Heart 5 Comment 0
Carey - also known as Country Cadillac
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallIn 2021 I passed through Medora on the Northern Tier route - I ate at the Cowboy Cafe (crowded, not too impressed to be honest) and later met up with my riding partner at Boots Bar - so it was fun when your journal rekindled those memories!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo George HallGeorge,
I didn't know the Northern Tier went through Medora. I lucked out getting a table both times I visited the Cowboy Cafe. I did see others leaving before they were seated, since the place doesn't bother with a waiting list.
Sorry this reply is so late.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago