Day 75 - still at Buffalo, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2023

Day 75 - still at Buffalo, SD

I decided to stay awake at 7:00am, after thunder woke me up. It started raining at 7:05am. After that cleared I walked over to the laundromat to clean my glasses in the laundry sink they have there. This gave me a whole new perspective on the day. The campground owners were out by the soon-to-be showerhouse. I confessed that I was trying to get over a cold, and would like to stay one more night with hopes that I'll be better tomorrow. They said I could stay as many nights as I liked. I did sleep OK last night, but was back to coughing now and then this morning.

I thought I'd mix things up today by eating breakfast at No. 3 Saloon and supper at Blossoms and Brew. So, at No. 3, I had country fried steak breakfast, orange juice, and coffee. When I was outside I noticed that another storm was just missing us. Then I also noticed a fellow unlocking doors at the place next door.

The place next door is Buffalo Museum and One Room Schoolhouse. Gary was the person unlocking the doors. His wife Jody showed up a short time later. I received a grand tour of the place, which is laid out very well. I didn't know about the Tyrannosaurus Rex that had been found in this county. Gary said that the original skull sold for like 32 million dollars. They have a replica here. I found so many of the displays interesting, I'm sure that I took too many pictures. I finished up my tour in the one room schoolhouse. Gary was nearby and answered questions I had.

The population in Buffalo is 360 and in all of Harding County it's 1350. It amazes me that these small towns can have so many services. There's even like four or five churches in this town.

Gary's good with jokes, and got me on this one, after he asked if I'd bicycled the Mickelson Trail. He said, "I don't think I'll do that one. It's a psychopath."

I left at 11:00am for the block ride west to the grocery store. My sister Laurie had suggested I try some cough drops. So I picked those up, along with orange juice to drink today.

Back at the campground I worked on the last two days that still need to get posted to the journal. Took a break at 12:30pm for a half an hour nap, then back at it. Copying my evening reports to the journal is saving me some time, but there's still time used up doing picture selection. With those two days posted I looked at my watch. It was 4:15pm. I'd meant to leave for Blossoms and Brew at 3:45pm to give me time to eat supper, since they close at 5:00pm, at least according to Google Maps. When I got there I found they were already closed. So I went to the next door building -Buffalo Bar to see if they serve food. They have pizzas they can cook which are made by Blossoms and Brew. So I had a three meat mini pizza. It was served with quite a selection of hot sauces, so I tried four different types, one on each slice. Our older son is into trying different types of hot sauces. His expertise would have been useful to me tonight as I decided which four bottles to try.

Back at the campground I worked some on the bike: replaced a broken tie-wrap that holds the accessories battery in place, tightened the front basket handlebar clamps, and oiled the chain. I glanced up to see the campground hostess walking over with a plate of food for me. She also gave me a bag of vitamin C gummies. The owners of this campground have taken care of me so well! I couldn't have found a better place to recover from my cold.

I think I was not coughing quite so much today. Unless my cold takes a turn for the worst overnight, or there are really bad storms, I'm going to try to get back on the road tomorrow. The original plan had me leaving Reva Gap Campground and ending up at Picnic Springs Campground near Ludlow, South Dakota. I'm halfway between the two right now. So it'll be a 20-mile day. Nice and easy.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite) + $20.50 plus $5 (breakfast) + $5 (Buffalo Museum and One Room Schoolhouse donation) + $6.84 (orange juice, cough drops) + $10.50 plus $3 (supper) = $60.84

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
It's a museum piece now.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI wonder what my Commodore 64 might be worth now...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill Shaneyfelt"...less"

:-)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jody and Gary
Heart 3 Comment 0
A replica of 1909 Buffalo, South Dakota.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A painting of the demise of Three Toes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI looked that one up just a few days back!

2 lined grasshopper

https://bugguide.net/node/view/470622
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Deb MARKOJeff, Deb from Three Toes Campground. Loren and I loved having you here and please come back any time. The bathrooms and showers will be done by then I am sure.

Love your journal and will be following you along your journey. Glad you are feeling better and that the weather cooled off for you. God Bless

PS, you take some great photos!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nancy GrahamHi Jeff, once again I have finally caught up with you ;’-). Traveling by van/RV with bikes, and trying to keep my journal up to date is a real task. I applaud you again for doing such a fantastic job of doing that when on such an epic bike tour. Of course I am so sorry you have been struggling with a cold, and surely hope it is much better for continued journey. You sure did end up choosing the perfect place to help recuperating at the right campground. Hoping all it better with you. Nancy
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Deb MARKODeb,
Thanks!
The rest I was able to get at your campground, and your kindness played a big part in helping me get well.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
As you know by now, I'm over my cold and continuing on. Thanks for all your kind comments.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago