Day 62 - still at Scottsbluff, NE - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2023

Day 62 - still at Scottsbluff, NE

Day 62
Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept till 7:10am this morning. It rained some overnight, but that wasn't a problem.

Today was going to be another day off. A real day off, where I didn't need to do laundry or work on the bike or get prescriptions filled. I did need to work on reports, but my main goal was to enjoy some of the events of Oregon Trail Days.

I decided to have breakfast this morning at Rise N Shine Restaurant in Gering, then go and watch the parade. They have very fast wifi at the restaurant, so I was able to get a report posted. The parade started at 10:00am, but I didn't get there until 10:30am. I knew the parade was over when the street sweeper went by.

After the parade I helped a fellow out. His water jug flew off the back of his flatbed truck when he drove across the street. He was too far away for me to do anything about it, but I noticed which way he went. Turns out he was parked only a block and a half away and still by his truck, so I was able to tell him about it.

I went on to a nearby park that happened to have a pavilion that has electricity, so I was able to get the phone charged while working more on reports.

My plan for lunch was to eat at the Legacy of the Plains Museum, where they were having a special lunch because of Oregon Trail Days. I was there at 12:30pm and really enjoyed the lunch, which cost me only $8. I checked at the front desk about the museum, which I'd gone through on a previous bicycle trip in 2019. They said the displays haven't changed much since then, so I decided to skip going through again. Sonny's Bike Shop did have a display out in the lobby, and I enjoyed seeing the old bikes. One display case was full of different style derailleurs. I think it takes a bicyclist to appreciate that display.

I left the museum at 2:07pm to ride some more of the missed GPT trail that I hadn't done when I arrived in Scottsbluff. That had me going west to Scotts Bluff National Monument. While there I checked out the exhibits in their visitor center and watched a video along with several other visitors.

On to the trail that would take me back into town. This gave me an opportunity for some good views of the bluffs.

On my way back to the campground, I stopped at a Sinclair station to get a large soda with ice for drinking back at my campsite. I was back at my picnic table at 3:56pm.

From then on I worked on yesterday's and today's reports, though I did take breaks from that to have pleasant conversations with two different couples that are camping here.

At 8:45pm a storm was here. Not much rain or wind. Mostly just close lightning. Some campers were responding to the lightning strikes as if they were watching a fireworks show.

This was a fun day for me. Just wish I'd gotten further along on report writing. I've been spoiled lately with fast wifi, which saves me some time, since I don't have to pre-downsize pictures before I upload them. I'm trying to decide when I leave town tomorrow whether it'd be worth going back to Rise N Shine Restaurant or to Walmart to upload pictures. Both places are somewhat out of my way from the route I plan to take. Guess I'll figure it out in the morning.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite) + $20.89 plus $5 (breakfast) + $8 (lunch) + $5 (Legacy of the Plains Museum donation) + $1.92 (orange soda) = $50.81

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
"1972 Coast to Coast with Tokheim 5-Speed Transmission"
Heart 2 Comment 0
"1970 Schwinn Cotton Picker"
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve H71Younger cousin had a similar Schwinn Stingray with shifter
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
"Turn of the 20th Century Imperial"
Heart 2 Comment 2
Mike AylingThat chain could do with a lube!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
I agree!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Nancy GrahamHey Jeff, we are in Nebraska too! Lincoln on our way to Kansas. I can surely relate to fast wifi as we have here in the hotel we chose to stay in to escape the heat. We are Van/RV camping but needed a break from the near 100 degrees. Driving does not show us nearly the beautiful photos you have taken. But the fast wifi is such a treat to be able to post my blog (not here on Blaze). This is as far as I have gotten on your journey, will keep plugging away to catch up.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago