Day 61 - still at Scottsbluff, NE - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

Day 61 - still at Scottsbluff, NE

Day 61
Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept in this morning until 5:55am, since it is a day off. But I did have a list of chores to get done today. The first was to take a shower. Next was to determine where I wanted to eat breakfast. Decided on the Log Cabin Restaurant in Gering, Nebraska, just south of Scottsbluff. I left for there on the empty bike at 7:41am.

Arrived at the restaurant at 8:07am. I've been here before during my 2019 bicycle trip, and remembered which table had an outlet for charging my phone. When I left there I decided to ride some of the GPT that I missed last night. That route brought me to Hascall Park in Terrytown, where I stopped under a pavilion, since it was going to rain. I worked on picture selection for 2 days ago while I waited for the rain to pass.

A Taco John's was a block away so when the rain had cleared and I was back on my way, I stopped there for a large Dr Pepper plus a refill for taking with me. Most of the trip back to the tent site was on a multi-use path that goes along the North Platte River, and also passes by Riverside Campground.

I was back at the campground at 11:34am. Gathered my laundry and headed to Scottsbluff Laundromat. Clothes were all clean by 1:42pm. I headed to the nearby Walmart next.

At Walmart I needed to pick up some prescriptions, but the doctor needed to renew them. I'd sent in a renewal request this morning, but apparently it hadn't been processed yet. I gave the doctor's office a call and they said they'd process it within an hour. 45 minutes later the pharmacist was able to fill the prescriptions and let me pay for the sunscreen and sardines I also picked up. While I'd been waiting, I discovered that Walmart has free wifi, and it is fast! So I stayed there a little while longer to get that two-day-old report posted.

Next I rode to Rollfast Bike and Skate Shop. They were closed, even though they're supposed to be open. So on to Sonny's Bike and Fitness. I bought a thorn resistant tube and a heavy duty tire (Bontrager H2 Hard-case Ultimate, 38-622) there. Also talked to the shop repair person. I believe he has the expertise to replace the hub on a wheel. He said it'd take about 2 hours and be about $50 labor. (I'm wondering now if that's $50 per hour labor.) He doesn't have any hubs in stock, but would figure something out, probably using a used hub. But he wouldn't be able to get to it until next week. Of course, I've been giving this hub crack issue a lot of thought for several days, and I've decided I will carry on with the wheel as it is, for now. The crack hasn't gotten any worse since I disconnected the spoke. I'm thinking this wheel might be able to get me all the way home. We'll see. I told the guy as I left the shop if I don't make it 50 more miles, he'll be seeing me.

Next I stopped at nearby Las VII Americas Restaurant for supper. I thought about having dessert, but was too full.

I was back at the campsite at 5:55pm. I'd ridden around town 16.6 miles today. I moved the bike to an empty RV spot to charge its battery and my phone. Then I worked on sorting pills and putting laundry away.

So today was kind of a work day. I've decided to stay here one more night to have a do-nothing day off. Gering is having their Oregon Trail Days this weekend. I'd like to go to some of their events. Of course, I have two more days reports to post and by the end tomorrow, a third one. So I'll be working some. But I'm not setting an alarm for tomorrow morning.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite) + $16.51 plus $4 (breakfast) + $3 (Dr Pepper) + $3.25 (laundry) + $16.02 (sunscreen, sardines) + $77.50 (tire, tube) + $14.42 plus $3 (supper) = $147.70

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rollfast Bike & Skate Shop
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sonny's Bike & Fitness
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's purchases.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve H71Good tire choice
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
I asked for a heavy duty tire, and this is what they gave me. I do like the looks of it.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamI have fallen behind in your tour Jeff but will pick up here when I can. I am on an RV camping trip with some biking involved but with little to no wifi availability.
Keep on keepin’ on and I will get back to your journey soon. Stay safe.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I'm behind myself on postings.
Nice to hear you're out on an adventure of your own. You stay safe also.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago