Day 56 - ending at Brush, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2023

Day 56 - ending at Brush, CO

Day 56 - Anton, CO to Brush, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 10:35pm last night to rain. Water was dripping into the tent, due to the rainfly laying against the screen mesh, and that was due to the wind. Nothing I could do about that but slide my sleeping bag to the dry side. I went back to sleep. Later in the night I got out my space blanket (which I put on top of my sleeping bag) since it was cold.

Woke up at 4:35am to a calm morning. Posted the report for 2 days ago, then packed up. Ready to go at 8:25am, but Anton Super's grocery store doesn't open until 9:00am on Sundays. Used that time, standing next to the outlet box at the campsite, to reply to comments for the journal. 

Rode to Super's at 9:15am for coffee and breakfast. While eating outside at the picnic table I noticed what looked like a NGS benchmark. It is!

My destination for today is the municipal campground in Brush, Colorado - 53 miles away.

After breakfast I was on my way at 9:55am, north first on CO-63 to Akron. I had a tailwind, but the road has bad seam crack bumps that kept me at a slow pace. With each bump I was wondering how my now 35-spoke rear wheel was making out. The pavement improved after noon.

Noon report: 15.7 miles.

Arrived in Akron at 1:27pm, and made my turn west at 1:35pm. I was on US-34 now. That ride to Brush seemed to be mostly downhill.

I was at the city limits for Brush at 4:36pm. Continued on west to El Jacal Mexican Grill for supper. I ate pretty well there, including having that dessert they put honey on. I see now that that is called a Sopapilla. I'm slowly learning some about Mexican food.

I took a few pictures of sights in town on my way to the campground. The campground has an electronic pay station. There are a few tent sites, but they're without electricity. I paid for my site, Tent Site 21, at 6:25pm. After getting set up, I walked the empty bike down to RV Site 9 to charge its accessories battery. Also charged my phone there when I wasn't using it. I figured no one was going to use RV Site 9, since where the RV is supposed to park is a big mud hole.

At 8:15pm, I walked over to a pavilion in the nearby park. I found an outlet next to a place to sit down, and called my wife. She'd just finished hosting a shared birthday party at our house. All the family was there but me. She had a stack of dishes to do now and I wasn't there to help. Hearing all I was missing out on made me a little homesick. But there will be more fun times together with family when I get home.

Jeff

Spent: $15.84 (breakfast items) + $27.44 plus $6 (supper) + $25 (campsite) = $74.28

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamThe lighting on this photo makes it stand our beautifully, and the color is very nice.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks! Early morning light and near sunset light helps that.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamThe blue sky! The white building. Nice shot.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltWell...

(In my best Aussie accent) Oil jus leave it at that.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill Shaneyfelt:-)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltYour canteens are better than my Clorox bottles...

But then, when I do drink tea, I fix it myself.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I like these because they're fairly rugged, and I can get replacements at grocery stores.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI sort of like quart vinegar bottles more recently because they fit bottle cages and some snap caps from pint water bottles fit them and are handy to use.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,341 miles (3,767 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Nancy GrahamThere were so many great photos on this day, I could not stop clicking on the heart! Nice and full day for you Jeff.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Timothy SwitzerYou may already have gotten to Fort Morgan. But if the bike shop can't help .... I read reviews for this welding shop and they do weld aluminum: Buchanan Welding & Construction
4.6
(12) · Welder
5+ years in business · Fort Morgan, CO · (970) 867-9353
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Roger MealiffI feel a smile coming on when I see you have a new journal posting. Thanks for taking the time to write them, Jeff.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
Thanks! This type of information is so helpful. But yes, I'm so far behind on journal entries that by the time you sent this I was past Fort Morgan.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks so much!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago