Day 51 - ending at Lamar, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2023

Day 51 - ending at Lamar, CO

Day 51 - Springfield, CO to Lamar, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 5:22am. Gathered the gear and packed the bike. The Guatemalan truck drivers were long gone by the time I got the bike out the motel doorway at 7:40am.

I rode south to Boca Brew for breakfast on this 4th of July holiday. Lots of folks were coming in to eat. I was all done at 8:34am. Walked across the street to Love's for Gatorade and ice. Finally on my way heading north at 8:58am. As I passed by, I noticed that Longhorn Steakhouse Cafe was open. I'd assumed they'd be closed, being a holiday. It's just as well I didn't know that ahead of time, because the owner of Baca Brew was really glad to see me again.

Today's destination is Sundance High Plains RV Park in Lamar, Colorado - just 45 miles north, all along US-287. I had a strong tailwind to start off my riding on the wide, smooth concrete shoulder.

I was thinking being along the highway all day, there wouldn't be as many interesting things to see as back gravel roads provide, but I did get a few pictures. I also decided to keep track of the names of all the rivers I crossed. Here's the list: Bear Creek, South Fork Horse Creek, North Fork Horse Creek, Sand Creek, Two Buttes Creek, and Clay Creek. I did notice that South Fork Horse Creek is full of tumbleweeds.

When I was between South Fork Horse Creek and North Fork Horse Creek, I stopped at a gravel road intersection for a break. I decided to give my sister Laurie, and brother-in-law Bill a phone call. I surprised them with the call, and that was fun. I had to walk a ways on the gravel road to lessen the highway traffic noise.

My earlier-than-normal start paid off when it was time to record the noon mileage: 21.4 miles.

I saw a sign for a rest area ahead, so pulled in there at 12:45pm. There is an information board there on Two Buttes, "the most prominent topographic feature in Southeast Colorado."

At 2:10pm I took another break near some communication tower facilities. It's then that I noticed clouds were starting to build up, and maybe there would be afternoon rain.

The wind was from the north now, but still I hurried along, arriving at the RV park on the south side of Lamar at 3:30pm. The place has a small area for tent camping just behind the dinosaur rock pile. After registering I decided I'd ride into town a little ways to get supper. The two nearby places recommended by the campground owner were both closed for the holiday, so I ended up at Taco John's. I don't recall having been to one before, but I liked my meal. While eating, I met a fellow my age, who wanted to discuss religion. Our beliefs couldn't be farther apart, still we parted with a handshake and good wishes.

I was back at the campground at 5:07pm. The wind had picked up due to a storm already happening to the south. This made setting up to tent without the use of stakes difficult. I finally got the job done with extra guylines tied to the bicycle, the picnic table, and two trees.

At 6:30pm it started raining. Being the 4th of July, fireworks were being lit off in the surrounding neighborhoods. I stood out in heavy sprinkles trying to get a good picture of one of those neighborhood fireworks. That turned out to be a waste of time, because later in the evening the town's fireworks were right next door to the campground. And it has quit raining. What surprised me is those fireworks and others were still going, off and on, until 11:00pm. As soon as it was quiet, I went to bed (at 11:10pm).

There is a possibility for severe storms tonight. When I'd checked in, the campground owner pointed out the safe buildings that I could go to if I hear sirens. Hopefully it doesn't come to that.

Jeff

Spent: $12.85 plus $3.21 (breakfast) + $6.29 (Gatorade) + $21.18 (campsite) + $13.44 (supper) = $56.97

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 2,137 miles (3,439 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0