Day 50 - still at Springfield, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Day 50 - still at Springfield, CO

I slept in this morning until 6:07am. I needed food and decided I'd have to go south 2 miles to Springfield Truck Stop for breakfast, since the nearby Longhorn Steakhouse Cafe isn't open on Mondays.

I took off on the empty bike, taking a few pictures as I went. Downtown I happened upon Baca Brew. I went in to see what they had in the way of breakfast food. There was enough of a selection, so I ordered a Sausage Egg Cheese Breakfast Biscuit, a BLT, Fritos, a cherry turnover, and coffee. Very surprising to me, the owner said they'd be open tomorrow morning, which is the 4th of July holiday. When I left I went across the street to Loves gas station to buy chocolate milk and cookies for lunch in my motel room, except I had one chocolate milk at a park I passed on the way back.

The main objective today was to get reports posted to the journal. By 11:35am I had the one for two days ago posted. After lunch, I took a 1.75 hour nap. On to working on yesterday's report. During a break from that I called my wife. We enjoyed talking for 45 minutes. She thought it was about my suppertime, but I told her I wasn't going to eat supper until I had yesterday's report posted.

At 6:35pm I walked a block south to Beep's Burgers. They were closed, but the owners were there making some repairs. They'd had a recent break-in that'd done $1,200 damage to their glass doors. They'd be closed for about a week to get that fixed. I told the owner I guessed I would go to the truck stop for supper. He told me that the truck stop wasn't a full-serve restaurant. I decided then that I would be just as well off eating at one of the gas stations downtown. So I walked back to the motel, got my bike, and rode to Loaf N Jug. They have three tables in a sit-down area, so I ate supper there.

Back at the motel room at 7:40pm, I flipped the bike over to check the tires. They're looking good. The rear wheel hub crack looks the same. The chain needed oiling, which I did. I think we're good for some more miles.

I was the motel's only guest last night, until later when one other person arrived. This evening a caravan of small size used pickup trucks arrived. Sixteen trucks in all; eight drivers. Each lead truck was pulling one other. The motel owner said the drivers are from Guatemala. They pick these trucks up from auctions in the area then drive them back home to fix them up.

My motel room is a mess with gear scattered everywhere. I think I'll deal with all that in the morning. If I can get caught up with responses to journal guest entries, I'll call it a successful day.

Jeff

Spent: $59.95 plus $5 (motel room) + $11.28 plus $3 (breakfast) + $13.95 (chocolate milk, cookies, M&Ms) + $25.89 (supper items, Clif Bars, USB cable) = $119.07

Today's sunrise picture.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezThere used to be a little old lady that owned this theatre. They sold pizza at night, they were the only food in town. Finally she got old enough that her son thought he needed to live closer. The theatre made a living for one, but not two, families. The son bought our theatre from us, and our house also (to sweeten the deal). Lots of memories for me on these days of your journal. Thank you for all of the photos.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
Wow! Another connection. And an interesting story! Thanks.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesA Deere looks good anywhere.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezWe took our first overnight bicycle trip from Lamar to this motel. We were amazingly under prepared. We ran out of water far, far from town. We ended up calling a friend to pick us up so we didn't have to ride back to Lamar the next day.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
Sounds like I had an easier ride than you did that day.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0