Day 111 - ending near Kendallville, IA - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2023

Day 111 - ending near Kendallville, IA

Day 111 - Preston, MN to Kendallville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 6:30am this morning. Worked on report and posted using free wifi by MiBroadbandFreeWiFi. I don't know if it's a city or fairgrounds provided service.

I finally got around and was ready to leave at 10:26am. Google Maps indicated B&B Bowl Restaurant here in Preston was the place to eat breakfast. I didn't follow the recommended routing to get there. I wish I had because I went up quite a hill and then back down. There seemed to be only one waitress at the restaurant. The place was pretty full, but she was on top of everything. I left there 11:47am, riding much flatter roads back to Preston's trailhead. 1.4 mile is today's noon report.

I still hadn't figured out where I was going to be tonight. Harvest Farm Campground Resort near Kendallville, Iowa, where I'd originally planned to stay last night, is only 20 miles away. There are some county campgrounds near Vernon Springs, south of Cresco, Iowa. I might make more progress and get to one of those. Anyway, the first part of the day would be riding the rest of the Harmony-Preston Valley State Trail to get to Harmony, Minnesota.

Preston is "Minnesota's Trout Capital" according to their parade float. I was able to see some trout in the creek that flows besides the trail. Shaded in the trees the creek is very pretty.

The trail was busy with Saturday riders. Just before 1:00pm, ahead of me a group of about six were headed my way. I saw one of them fall after hitting a bad crack. The others stopped to help. I got up to them shortly after. The fallen fellow seemed to be OK, except he was scraped up pretty bad on one elbow and one knee. I was able to help with first aid. I was the only one who had Neosporin and bandages big enough to cover the scrapes. The bandages needed help staying on, so I used my Kapton electrical tape. One of the fellows in the group knew right where my hometown of Morton is. He has relatives that live in nearby Goodfield. The group got going again. They only had to make it to Lanesboro where they are staying.

This trail to Harmony is definitely uphill. I was able to ride all the way, except about 50 feet, when I didn't get downshifted soon enough. I did stop quite often for breaks though. I arrived in Harmony at 3:00pm. I ended up spending over an hour in town. First I went to Breakers for a large cherry slushie. There was some waiting in line for that. Then I stopped by the town's Visitors Center. They're set up somewhat like a museum. My last stop was at Harmony Foods where I bought a quart of chocolate milk, which I drank sitting outside on a beach in the shade.

At 4:12pm I'd cleared town, heading south on MN-139. At 4:37pm, I crossed the state line into Iowa. Not too far ahead was Harvest Farm Campground. I had marked on my itinerary printout that they have laundry available. If I did stop there, it's still early enough that I could get my laundry done this evening and not have to take a day off for that. So I decided on that, making the turn west onto the gravel road to get to the campground.

I was at the camp office at 5:20pm. I'd been here before, on a family camping vacation with our kids. The place hadn't been built-up back then. We'd set up our tent on a hill beneath big trees. I remember it fondly. However there were cows just across the road that mooed all night long. I think that may be the time when my wife declared she was never tent camping again. This place is completely different now. They're full of Labor Day weekend campers in RVs. I was given a choice of a couple of sites that are available and have electricity. The campground owner, Dave, says he was going to charge me half price for the campsite. Different than any place I've been before, you pay when you check out. Dave keeps a running tab on your expenses.

I was at site #125 at 5:35pm. As soon as I had the tent up, I took a shower. Next I gathered my clothes, put them on the bike, and rode back up the hill to the camp office, where the laundry machines are. Folks in an ATV cheered for me and took my picture when I reached the top, saying, "You made it without stopping!" At the office, Dave added $5 to my tab for laundry. Then he added $6 for what I'd picked out for supper. I ate outside the camp store at a picnic table under oak trees. It was such a pleasant evening sitting there on top of the hill with the sun setting. Back inside the laundry room, Dave brought over some meat samples for me to eat. He said campers are always bringing him food, and it's always too much. Then he brought me some desserts, though these, a cupcake and a bonbon, were made by his daughter. They were very good.

By 10:00pm I was back at the tent with my laundry all folded and put away. Now I needed to write today's evening report. I was just wanting to go to bed, so instead, I set my alarm for 4:00am, figuring I'll be more awake in the morning for that.

Jeff

Spent: $12.63 plus $4 (breakfast) + $4.30 plus $0.70 (Slushie) + $2.29 (chocolate milk) + $15.50 (campsite) + $6 (laundry) + $5.96 (supper items) = $51.38

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 4
Rich FrasierJeff, what are you going to do with that wheel when you get it home? Is there anything reusable on it?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Steve H71To Rich FrasierI have been wondering that also, suppose you could use the wheel to rebuild it with new hub and some 14 g spokes
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
I'm hoping to rebuild the wheel with a new hub, using the existing rim and spokes. I've never rebuilt a wheel, so we'll see how that goes.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Rebuilding the wheel is the plan, but using the same spokes, as well as the rim.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sinkhole observation platform
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Iowa!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve H71flash backs of bailing hay
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
I've never bailed hay, but it certainly looks like hot work. I'll use my hay fever as an excuse not to try it.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Laundry room
Heart 0 Comment 0
Supper
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
More supper
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dessert
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 4,124 miles (6,637 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Jeff TeelI got a couple days behind on posting, and I'd need to take a day off to get caught up. I'm anxious to get home, so I just kept moving. I took notes and pictures. Look for the last days of the trip to be posted to the journal next week, after I'm home.
Since my last entry, I've camped out at or near Clermont, Manchester, and Maquoketa in Iowa. I'm near Morrison, Illinois now, with one more night ahead before I'm home.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Nancy GrahamTo Jeff TeelThanks for this note Jeff. I have been looking and started to worry just a wee bit that you had not posted for several days. I know the feeling of ‘smelling the bar’ as you near it, so will wish you the best and wait for your posts.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeff,
Hope you are safely and happily home. Like Nancy, I was a bit concerned. Kerry and will look forward to your final posts.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Sorry to cause a concern. I should have posted this note sooner, but couldn't decide the best way to do it (comments or journal page).
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
I am safely home now. I was surprised that for each of the remaining journal pages, it took me a whole day to write and post one day. I'm even more surprised how long it's taking me to reply to my unanswered comments!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago