Day 10 - ending near Walcott, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2023

Day 10 - ending near Walcott, AR

Day 10 - Fagus, MO to Walcott, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

I started today with report writing at 5:10am. At 6:50am, I was hearing a crop duster. A little later a fellow in a pickup pulling a boat showed up. He launched his boat where I had thought about setting up my tent last night. I had assumed that area was just a flooded turn-around. The boat launch provides access to the Black River, where catfish are to be found.

The cell signal here was fair, so I was able to get the report posted before I left. Packed and ready to go at 9:50am, after eating a Clif Bar. Destination today is Crowley's Ridge State Park near Wolcott, Arkansas. But again, I had gravel roads to ride on to begin with.

So back on Road-N going south, heading to Arkansas on this beautiful morning. This road was definitely flat, with about half of it rideable. At 10:30am I crossed the state border into Arkansas. No welcome sign, of course, on this back road. But the color of the gravel on the road changed, which gave me hope that it would be better for riding. It was, somewhat.

A few farm workers on tractors and in pickup trucks passed me. Later it was semi-type grain trucks making clouds of dust. Riding on this gravel was wearing out my arms. I could finally see the town I was headed for ahead - McDougal, Arkansas. I had marked on my GPS that there was a gas station convenience store there, and that would have to do for breakfast. Except I didn't get to the town until 11:36am, after walking/riding 6.6 miles of gravel roads.

McDougal One Stop had lots of pickups parked in front. There was a dog on the porch that greeted me and wondered if I would let him in. When I walked inside I was thrilled to see that they were serving a cafeteria-style lunch. To the right was an open area filled with tables and chairs, with half of them filled with local workers eating lunch. It looked like they were out of lasagna, but a new pan was brought out just as I got there. While I sat eating, I noticed these tough farm workers and farm service workers were eating salads with their meals. One fellow went out to his truck and brought back a hot pepper, which he took bites off of as he ate his salad. My meal was so good. I really needed to eat something wholesome.

Noon mileage was only 7.4 miles, but stocked up now with ice water and Gatorade, I was ready to increase my miles per hour. I took off riding west a little ways to the intersection of a road that would take me southwest. All my GPSs agreed that this was the way to go. But it's gravel, I could see when I got there! I was checking my paper state map when a pick up truck pulled alongside. One of the passengers said I was looking ahead at 8 miles of gravel road. He suggested I turn back and get on AR-141, which would get me all the way to the state park. That looked good to me. Plus, the first half of AR-141 that I would be on is a designated National Scenic Route.

I started my scenic ride at 12:48pm. There was a small hill ahead, but I was having a hard time with it. After a few breaks I decided I'm either not eating enough and/or drinking enough. So during the breaks I ate snacks and drank lots. I was back to normal a while later.

Riding AR-141 was a delight. There was a tree-filled ridge to my left and flat open fields to my right. Went through small towns with dogs who were only half interested in giving me a chase. At 5:00pm I noticed it looked like it was raining to the east. My weather radar confirmed this. Fortunately it did stay east.

I passed through Walcott at 6:45pm. Just before 7:00pm I was at the campground area in the park. The Visitor Center at the entrance to the park wasn't open, so I was hoping to find a campground host, but didn't. They have a nice big tent-only area here, but I needed electricity - all my batteries were low. I finally set up at site #5 - an electric site - and decided to figure out how to pay in the morning.

I sat down at the picnic table, ate supper, then wrote up my "I'm here" email report. It got stuck in my Gmail Outbox when I tried to send it. Actually, it looked like nothing is coming in or going out. I spent way too much time trying to figure out what was going on. Finally went and took a shower. More messing with the email settings after I got back - no luck. Gave up at midnight - I wasn't going to lose any more sleep on this.

Jeff

Spent: $15.76 plus $3 (lunch) + $5.81 (Gatorade) + $20.61 (campsite) = $45.18

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesMaybe when they do a remake of North by Northwest you can do Cary Grant’s role.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I'm too old for the part.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 456 miles (734 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeff LeeArkansas! I'm getting wanderlust reading your journal while I'm stuck at my desk. I'm still hoping to start my own trip in a couple of weeks.

One of the reasons I started touring on a mountain bike (a Salsa Fargo with super-tough big tires) is so I could ride gravel and dirt roads without worrying too much about it. When I was riding my Cannondale touring bike, I often dreaded the kind of gravel you've occasionally encountered on this trip.

Have a great ride! I'll be following along. You've probably got too much of a head start for me to catch up with you on the road somewhere, but you never know.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kathleen JonesBoy that ride on 141 was gorgeous. Great photos too.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
From what I'm seeing, I'd say a mountain bike is a requirement for successfully riding these Arkansas gravel roads.
I'm sure you won't have any trouble catching up with me as I head farther west into the hills.
See you soon.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I did enjoy the scenic ride.
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago