Shake Out Ride: T-minus one day - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2009

Shake Out Ride: T-minus one day

Today was the first fully loaded ride on the Girl Friday and I took some pictures to mark the event. The weather didn't cooperate (re lighting) but the bike still looks marvelous. ;-)

Up until two hours ago I was going to bring my camping equipment, but the most I would be camping on the whole trip is 2 nights and I didn't feel like schlepping all my stuff just for that. Though I did ride it in its full, camping configuration on today's shake out ride.

I will still use front and rear racks to distribute the weight. The rear rack is newly made by a friend of mine and this will be it's first true test. I don't plan on loading it down like I did with the Trucker this summer. Like the Bike Friday, the rack packs small and disassembles easy.

I only rode 10 miles. It's been a while since I rode with that much weight and my legs could really feel it. All I can say is...it felt GREAT! :-) All that weight can only mean one thing--my trip starts tomorrow!

Early tomorrow I board a train for my day long trip to Santa Barbara and a short ride to my hotel. Tuesday I ride! WOOO-HOOOO!

Hopefully my Amtrak adventure will go smoothly. I don't plan on checking my bike but instead will fold her up and carry her on. I'll let you know how that goes.

Until tomorrow...

Girl Friday, you look marvelous!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0