Day 1, sort of: I'm counting my train ride as day 1, so there! - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2009

Day 1, sort of: I'm counting my train ride as day 1, so there!

POSTED December 22 at 7:44pm

Well it was a weird day. First, my train was on time. I wasn't hungry for breakfast so I took a nice nap instead. The train was early at every stop. Lunch was great, with just about the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had, except for my MOMS of course! Not once did I have trouble finding a seat in the parlor car. I got the folded Bike Friday on the train with no hassles AND I was able to unfold her and assemble the new rack before we arrived in Santa Barbara-early! I wheeled The Girl off the train, attached my bags, took some snapshots and off I went, away before the train left the station! It was like Amtrak from Bizarro World?

I may be in some legal trouble though. While taking some pictures of the festively decorated parlor car I was informed by the attendant that I need a special license to take pictures of the train.
"You're joking?" I asked.
"No, it's a security rule," he said, though admittedly he said it in a way that says, "Yes, I know it's an absurd rule."
I snickered and took my pictures; he went back to his work, seemingly unconcerned. I wonder how hard it would be for terrorists to get their own idea of what the inside of an Amtrak car looks like? That sounds like something for a Things For Small Minds to Ponder article?

Today's ride consisted of 7 whole miles from the train station to my hotel. But I stopped and rode down the pier along the way and the lights (both city and Christmas) were beautiful. It's a far cry from the summer when I rode through, and could not even get ON the pier because there were so many people.

Tomorrow the real fun begins. Hopefully the weather will hold. The report is for clouds and strong wind warnings-from the northwest! :-) WOOO-HOOOO!

The Girl Friday folded and packed as carry on luggage
Heart 0 Comment 0
The parlor car decked out for the holidays.
Don't tell homeland security!
And if I vanish into thin air it may be because of this illegal photo and a little thing called "rendition!"
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Girl Friday all unfolded and assembled, waiting to roll off the train.
Sure beats checked baggage
Heart 0 Comment 0
Santa Barbara train station
Heart 0 Comment 0
From Santa Barbara pier looking back towards shore
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 7 miles (11 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0