Day 10: Beauty and the beast, but mostly beauty - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2009

Day 10: Beauty and the beast, but mostly beauty

Leave it to bike touring to prove me right again; bike touring sure is unpredictable!

I thought about shopping in Palm Springs, at Gucci, but decided to ride my bike instead.

I got a late start. It was only about 25 miles to the train station; what was the rush? I took my time, updated my journal, answered some e-mails, made some phone calls, had a pre-breakfast...and at 11:00am I was off.

I decided to take a route north of town and, by accident, ran across the Coachella Palm Canyon reserve-it was amazing, a true oasis in every sense of the word! I rolled my bike in to the little visitor's center and the docent even allowed me to park my bike inside, right near him so I could go for a little hike. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. I really enjoyed that place, and all that came after did not spoil that memory.

After about an hour I got ready to leave. I still had plenty of time, especially if I rolled back down the hill that I came from and rode a little closer to town. 'You don't want to do that,' said the docent. Go around this other way (see map), there is less traffic and it's just as fast.'
'Well, I need to be at the train station by 5:00 and I would like some slop time so I can get something to eat and buy snacks for the train... Am I at the top of the hill? Is there any more climbing this way?' I asked.
'This is the top. You go about 300 feet more and it's mostly downhill to town.'
'You're SURE,' I asked. 'The wind is starting to pick up from the direction I'll be heading so the town way is more sheltered.'

...you can see where this is going, right? I went 'his way' and set off, rejuvenated by my hike through the oasis...

I climbed, and then drifted down hill a little. Then the winds picked up. Then, I climbed, with a crosswind. I now have passed '300 feet' mark miles ago, with my kisser directly in the wind I climbed, and climbed....then I climbed some more... Then the winds picked up, and I mean PICKED up! I realize people who don't ride get things like 'hills' wrong, but I still can't believe he was SO wrong.

I finally started down but still had a ways to go. Around 3:30 I was getting closer but I was also running out of water. I stopped at a Realtor and got into a conversation with the woman there...

'You rode from WHERE, and you're going to the TRAIN STATION! In this WIND!...' Turns out her son rides a little so she could both sympathize and appreciate my situation, and the effort I had put in so far. 'WHO told you that was the best way?!' she added when I told her the whole story of why I was on that road to begin with.
'That is TERRIBLE. He should have NEVER told you to go that way.' Then she added, Will your bike fit in my car?'
'Well, it folds, so, yeah, I, yeah, I guess it would.'
'You look strong and I'm sure you can make it by 5:00 but it's miserable out there with this wind.' She grabbed her keys handed me a fresh, clean bottle of water and that sealed the deal. I can't say I was upset about this new development. Way to go Girl Friday! Your folding qualities came through again!

She took me the rest of the way, and seeing the dust storms forming, and the giant wind mills, spinning, I was happy to have a giant engine in front of me for a little while.

BTW, as a side note, when I need directions, water, local advice, I have learned that Realtors are often the best. They are usually friendly, they know the roads (and often the steepness), they are often women (my preference when getting advice from strangers) and they are usually willing to help. Sharon was no exception. Thanks, Sharon!

So, I'm writing this from the train. I am also writing this without much food, or at least much GOOD food. I just didn't have much time to eat today...

It was an eventful day. I can't wait to get to Donna and Tim's house so I can eat them out of house and home! :-)

More tomorrow. I just got to my friend's house after my train ride and it's after midnight. Tomorrow I will post pictures of that really cool palm canyon oasis!

Until then

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 331 miles (533 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0