Gear List - Geneva South through the Western Alps - CycleBlaze

Gear List

I'm putting a list here so I have if for future reference. It's based on what I took last year, and if I hadn't put it in my journal, I'd have lost it! Last year I used pretty well everything I took except the shoe covers (and there were a couple of days I should have put then on) and my first aid kit and repair parts (which I prefer not to need). I've made a few changes, such as swapping out the solo tent for our rather large and heavy MEC Wanderer 2. That's all right, Al's going to carry it and it will help even out our vastly different power-to-total-weight ratios.

Other than the tent, the list below is what I'm going to carry on my bike. A few things are new, like the Scrubba wash bag. It seemed more functional than the sink plug I wished I'd had on other tours. Merino doesn't get stinky, but it can get very salty. I expect I'll be washing my riding clothes every day like I did last year.

Jacquie's Bike
Co-Motion Pangea (with couplers and 165 42-32-24 crankset)
Tubus Tara front and Logo rear racks supporting Ortlieb Back-Roller Plus and Sport-Packer Plus panniers
Ortlieb Ultimate 6 handlebar bag on a Rixen Kaul Klick Fix handlebar adapter (superior to Ortlieb's, which is mounted on my around-town bike)
Ortlieb map case
Garmin 810 bike computer loaded with openfietsmap for the areas we plan to ride through
Axiom Rainrunner Reflex fenders
Waterbottles and cages (2)
Click-Stand
Helmet
Front and rear lights
Abus Bordo lock

Camping
MEC Wanderer 2 tent and footprint (carried by Al)
Exped Downmat UL7
Western Mountaineering Ultralite sleeping bag
Fleece pillowcase (fits my light down jacket)
Alite Monarch chair*
Camp towel and washcloth
Camp clothesline and pegs
Headlamp

Clothes (packed in MEC packing cubes and sil stuff sacks)
Merino headband (fits under helmet)
Cycling cap (fits under helmet)
Baseball cap
Showers Pass rain jacket with detachable hood
Light down jacket
Microfleece jacket
Merino t-shirts (3 short-sleeve, 1 sleeveless)
Synthetic t-shirt (for Canada Day)
Sun sleeves
Fingerless bike gloves
Warm bike gloves (full-finger windproof)
Cycling liner shorts (2)
Outer bike shorts (2)
Merino skort for off-bike (can ride in this)
Wind/water resistant cycling pants
SPD bike shoes
Waterproof shoe covers
Walking sandals
Socks and underwear
Swimsuit

Electronics
iPhone
iPad
Camera
Kobo e-reader
Charging cords, plugs and adapters
Headphones
Portable charger
Gorillapod

Tools and spares
For assembling and disassembling my bike (and tightening things that work loose)
For fixing flats
For oiling the chain and cleaning the bike
Plus FibreFix spoke, chain master link, spare nuts and bolts, Tenacious tape, duct tape, zap straps

Misc
Michelin maps
Spork and cup
Pocket knife
Toiletries
First aid kit
Pen
Scrubba laundry bag

Traveling
Bike case
Large duffel bag for panniers
Ortlieb backpack converter (to make it easier to deal with the one pannier I'll use as a carry-on with my handlebar bag)

* Haven't decided about the chairs this time. We might leave our chairs at home to mitigate the heavy tent. UPDATE. The chairs stayed home.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0