Startford to Bairnsdale - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 21, 2024

Startford to Bairnsdale

Slow start today, it was a cold night and the clear overnight sky has been covered by cloud. I'm not in a rush and hoping the clouds will clear. And they do, yay!

I take an indirect route to the C106 which will take me all the way to Bairnsdale.

My gravel road this morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bit of a view
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road to Bairnsdale is ok, nice shoulder most of the way and not to much traffic, although I did get closer than I'd like to the only bus I see all day.

 It's Sunday and I had assumed the heavy traffic will take the more direct A1 road. I think my assumptions are holding.

I stop for a break at the tiny town of Meerlieu. There isn't a lot here, a small primary school and an excellently maintained cricket oval. They are having a working bee in preparation for ANZAC day. 

Meerlieu club house
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continue onto Bairnsdale , nothing exciting really, this more of an A to B day than a touristing day.

Some of the paddocks are really green, new season crops or maybe they're just keep the cows out for a while. They had a lot of rain along the east coast of Australia 3 weeks ago.

Green paddock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I make my way to the caravan park and since it's early I get a load of washing on and then set up my tent.

Home for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went for a walk up to Coles and Bairnsdale has a few interesting buildings.

Two storage rotunda
Heart 2 Comment 0
Court house
Heart 4 Comment 0
Court house again
Heart 2 Comment 0

Good day today 🙂

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 642 km (399 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0