Bairnsdale to Nowa Nowa - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2024

Bairnsdale to Nowa Nowa

Beautiful blue sky day and my tent is only damp. I pack up and head out. Steve and Leanne from the Stratford caravan park are also staying in Bairnsdale. Steve heads out a bit before I do.

Check out that reflection
Heart 3 Comment 0

I cross over the Mitchell River and join onto the East Gippsland Rail Trail. One day they hope to connect the Gippsland plans RT with the East Gippsland RT, that would be wonderful.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The start
Heart 1 Comment 0

The first thing I notice is that the gates that are on all rail trails used to make cyclists slow down when crossing roads are very stylish.

Nice gates
Heart 1 Comment 0
View
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first big bridge I cross is interesting, it's a steel structure on one side and wood trestle on the other.

Bridge of steel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bridge of wood, same bridge different construction
Heart 1 Comment 0

Several tunnels allow the trail to go under the road.

Tunnel
Heart 1 Comment 0

About this point I remember I'd left my milk container in the caravan park fridge. Oh no. Why would I care about a bit of milk you ask? Well it's the container you see. Ian and I bought that container in the Netherlands in 1993 and it's done ever cycle tour with me since. Steve gave me his number earlier and say if I needed a hand to call. They are travelling in a similar direction over the next week. I rang Steve, cause well this is kind of an emergency 🙂. Yes, Leanne is meeting him in Burthen to swap bikes with the car. Leanne will ride back to Bairnsdale and Steve will drive the car back, a great set-up I think. Sure she could bring the container with her. Perfect!! Thank you Steve and Leanne.

Next on the trail a really old derelict trestle bridge. The sun made it tricky to get a good photo.

Old trestle bridge.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I met Leanne in Burthen to retrieve my container. It's really lovely to meet genuinely nice people.

Leanne and Steve, thanks. Happy cycling
Heart 2 Comment 0

I grab a Cornish pasty and coffee. A group of local cyclists ask me to join them and we have a chat about the trail. I got some local knowledge to detour around a particular steep pinch after the next trestle bridge. What a great morning 🌞

Burthen central park
Heart 2 Comment 0

The afternoon went by peaceful some nice views into the bush along the trail.

Super quiet right here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lizard 🙂
Heart 4 Comment 0

Then the Stony Creek trestle bridge came into view. It's very impressive.

Heart 3 Comment 0
It's huge
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The bridge was built in 1916 to extend the rail out to Orbost. So you could catch the train from Melbourne all the way to Orbost and you could get your produce to Melbourne easily, opening up new markets.

It was in use until 1988.

I made it to Nowa Nowa and a cute little caravan park that has several old caravans on site for hire. I just got a campsite. 

Old caravan
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tiny house
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have a view of yet another trestle bridge from my tent.

View from my tent
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 705 km (438 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Robert DaviesSome nice photos, impressive scenery :)
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Cam RungieLast year I left some delightful local smoked salmon in the fridge at Quamby Corner CP on the Tas Trail. Passed by a week later and picked it up. All good.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago