Nowa Nowa to Orbost - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2024

Nowa Nowa to Orbost

I have visitors with me for breakfast. Very friendly Maggie's.

Good morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ha that's my breakfast your eating
Heart 0 Comment 0
Happy to help you open this instead, lol
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's a short day today only about 40 kms then a rest day tomorrow, so I'm in no rush to pack up and go.

I decided to try out my solar panel for the first time. The day seems clear enough. It hooks onto my pack rack with a couple of carabiners.

Solar power
Heart 1 Comment 0

I also do a quick repair on my back rack, the panniers have rubbed away the black paint and started on the metal. I piece of gorilla tape should help.

Before
Heart 0 Comment 0
After
Heart 0 Comment 0

I head out onto the Rail Trail and soon see an issue for the solar panels, the trail has lots of dappled shade.

I like the shade but I'm not sure about my solar panel performance.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Over the trail bridge with A1 just near by.

Boggy creek
Heart 2 Comment 0
A1 highway is near by
Heart 1 Comment 0

The impressive Wairewa bridge is up next. They have built a great viewing platform. I can just imagine what it was like on a train to fly out onto the bridge.

Toot toot! Lexi train coming through
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rail Trail on the left
Heart 2 Comment 0
View
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just out of Tostaree I found a shelter and toilet, so I stopped for morning tea.

Toilets, nice paint work volunteers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morning tea shelter
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a fire in this area in 2011, the local trestle bridge was burned to nothing. As the sign in the rest stop says, once that history is gone it's gone forever.

The trail surface change a few times until I got to the outskirts of Orbost.

Trail view
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trail view further along
Heart 2 Comment 0

The trail didn't appear to have an end point it kind of just petered out and turned into a goat track near the road, not the A1 thank goodness.

Goat track
Heart 1 Comment 0

I chat to few guys working near the goat track. The historic trestle viaduct into Orbost is being fixed. In 6 months time I'd be able to cycle along it to the Snowy River bridge just across from Orbost. Exciting 🙂

Historic wooden viaduct next to the existing A1 highway
Heart 1 Comment 0
Orbost train station platform, you can just make it out
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Orbost station was never across the Snowy River in the township. So the rail trail doesn't have a corridor into town. Hence the goat trail.

I make my way to the main street for a bakery lunch. The cottage I have rented for the next 2 nights isn't available until 2 pm.

Cake first as the next batch of sausage rolls are still in the oven
Heart 2 Comment 0

The cottage is lovely and I waste no time in getting a load of washing on and settling into relaxing for the next day and a half.

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 748 km (465 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Robert DaviesCongratulations on completing part 1 of the adventure. Rail trails are the best. Onward and upward, part 2.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Elaine BARNESDon't forget some photos of the cottage! 😀
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago