Rosedale to Stratford - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2024

Rosedale to Stratford

After yesterday exhausting ride I started the day with a bakery coffee plus egg and bacon roll. Yum!

Coffee!
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's a blue sky day!! Yay, first I've had this trip.

Blue sky and Angus beef cows. I think that's Hazelwood power plant on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride to Cowwarr is pleasant, mixture of gravel roads and single lane sealed roads.

Conifer wind break
Heart 1 Comment 0
Local farmers art work in their front yard. Cute!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I attempted some landscape photography, just because, well the landscape was so inspiring. Enjoy!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is my favourite
Heart 2 Comment 0

More photos today because I'm not stressed about getting to my destination.

There are no coffee shops in Cowwarr but I can hear a Saturday footy game is in progress. I made use of a bus stop with a nice bench seat for an apple break.

Morning tea 🌞
Heart 3 Comment 0

One of the houses has some cute cows, seems to be a bit of theme in these parts.

Roof cows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cow with roses. Merry Widow is a local catering company.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is were I join the Gippsland Plans Rail Trail.

Rail Trail 🙂
Heart 1 Comment 0

There are some nice bridges and places were a bridge once stood but the trail goes around, over the road and back up.

Nice bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Can you see the old bridge parts up there?
Heart 0 Comment 0
They left the rails in the road. Love it.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Favourite photo for the day, I've changing my journal photo to this one.

Love this photo
Heart 3 Comment 0

I found my coffee at Hayfield. An interesting setup. A semipermanent van next to a fully automatic diesel only fuel station.

I chatted to a couple of local ladies while we drank coffee, oh ok I also had a locally made biscuit.

Coffee and fuel stop
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is a missed opportunity. Make electric car charging station dual purpose and add a e-bike charging option.

Electric car charging station. Where do I charge my e-bike?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back onto the trail. Next stop Maffra and afternoon tea at the local park. I don't tend to stop for lunch, smaller breaks are my preference.

Beautiful park and lots of nature play for the kids.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Final stop for the day is Stratford. The River side caravan park is lovely but missing a very important part, a fridge in the camp kitchen. Apparently the people are new here, second day. Steve a cyclist, who I met briefly at Hayfield kindly offers to put my milk and yoghurt in his caravan fridge. Problem solved.  Thanks Steve and Leanne.

Chips and Bundaberg Creaming Soda while I write my journal. Cheers 😎
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 567 km (352 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0