Philip Island - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2024

Philip Island

Late Start

Slow start this morning as the ferry doesn't leave until 10:15am. Consequently I almost had a dry tent to pack up, yay!

All set for the day, just watching Insiders on the ABC while I charge my Zoleo in the camp kitchen
Heart 0 Comment 0

While I'm waiting a pair of Rosella move into clean up the camp sit.

Rosella's
Heart 2 Comment 0

The ferry was unexpectedly tricky. I hadn't thought about how I'd get Lexi onto the boat. Jetty stairs both down and oh no backup at the other end. Some friendly local cyclists thankfully came to my aid.  It needed three of use to carry her and all my panniers up the stairs, approximately 42kg! There is no way I could have got Lexi up the stairs on my own.

Thank you Vin, Carlos and Andy
Heart 2 Comment 0

I made my way through the town of Cowes and onto the C473 to Nobbies Centre and lookout.

Nice view and first paddleboarder / surfer of the day
Heart 1 Comment 0

Nobbies is another one of those huge pieces of rock off the Victorian coast. It's not as impressive as some. In the past there was a light house on it and tourist could walk out there., which probably wasn't very safe. The light house has been demolished and the area has been turned into a nature reserve with a boardwalk to allow tourists too see the coastline.

Nobbies
Heart 1 Comment 2
Robert DaviesGlad I now know where Nobbie's is located, not just nuts.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
durand de ZylvaTo Robert Davieshttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pD9N34I9_D0
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Along the boardwalk you can see further down the coast.

View
Heart 2 Comment 0
More views of the ocean as it rushes in and out
Heart 2 Comment 0
View back the way I'd come.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Time for lunch and you guessed it, with a view. It's a lovely spot and not to busy today.

Fish burger with a view
Heart 1 Comment 2
Robert DaviesThe Nobbies Burger!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

There lots of Cape Barron geese in the area and along the side of the road. They have a look of intelligence about them as I cycle past them.

Cape Barron Geese
Heart 2 Comment 0

I headed back along the carefully hidden gravel cliff top road. I had to cycle past the Staff Only Carpark to find the start of it, this also meant there was almost no traffic and that made for a very pleasant ride. Towards the end I came across several cars and surfers in the water. Nice stop, there was even a plaque.

Surfers, it's not Bells beach but still looks great to me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plaque that looks important.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So naturally when I came across what looks like a small stadium looking out onto the Surfers I was like 'wow' they take surfing really seriously here. Maybe this is more significant than Bells Beach.

Seats and everything to watch surfing, right?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Lol, turns out that the viewing platforms are for the Penguin Parade as the penguins comes in for the night. They are open most evenings and there is a whole Penguin tourist centre associated with the viewing platforms.  Now I get in. Hint it's not free.

I join onto the C478 to cycle to the other end of the island. Taking in the views as the road and path allows. I have either a good size shoulder on the road or once past Cowes a completely separate cycle path. The traffic is playing nice and giving me enough space.

View of the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunderland Bay boardwalk
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cycling path next to the the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Camp tonight includes bunnies and water fowl. Not sure if they help themselves to unattended food but I won't be waiting to find out. 

Bunnies, when you see them like this you know there are a lot of them.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 173 km (107 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0