Newhaven to Inverloch - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

Newhaven to Inverloch

I'm up before my alarm, the birds are awake, the bunnies are hoping around, all feels like a Disney movie. But I'm the grumpy character, who is never happy because my tent is not just wet but dripping wet! Lol

So I became that camper who use the playground fence to try and dry my tent. No else is awake to see my display 🙂

Dry tent dry
Heart 2 Comment 0

Even with my tent drying efforts I still made sure to get away by 9 am. If I leave before 9 I'm early, if leave after 9 I'm late. It's all in head I know, but that's how my day starts.

Out onto a lovely share path that runs along the road. Victoria not only have more rail trails than any other state, I've decided they also have more excellent off-road paths that link them up.

Bye bye Philip Island, hello mainland Victoria
Heart 1 Comment 0
Westernpoint bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
This isn't even a rail trail just a share path running along the B420; Philip Island road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Westernpoint bay again
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rich FrasierLove the clouds!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

I join onto the Bass Coast rail trail, it has these lovely tree covered sections and is generally a slightly soft damp sand surface which Lexi and I comfortable traverse. There are several other cyclists and runners out, it's a pleasant ride.

Lovely old bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pine trees, they smell nice
Heart 1 Comment 1
Robert DaviesYes 100% rail trail..... beautiful
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

I check to make sure the trail goes into Wonthaggi as I also check on Google maps for the best bakery in town, without going to far off my route, Connells bakery wins.

Pie and coffee with Lexi in view down the street yum!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Robert DaviesDon't forget to give us the occasional selfie!!!
That lady ate your pie while you were not looking :)
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Brianna DallTo Robert DaviesHehe, no I just forgot to take the photo first lol
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

I also grab a custard tart for later. I plan to eat it sitting where there is a view to the ocean. Harmers Haven seem likely.

I leave the rail trail and head to the coast and Harmers Haven. Mmm no view to the coast a bit disappointing really. I turn to ride along the coast wondering if I should have stuck to the rail trail after all. Through cows and fields seeing nothing in particular. Until I come across Cape Paterson, well the new 'The Cape's sustainable living community. It's a bit surreal, cows and fields, to very modern houses with pathways everywhere, 50% community spaces.

8 star housing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Must have solar and all electronic appliances, no gas!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I find a couple walking their dogs and I just had to ask about the estate. Alison and Graham have been here since the beginning, 7 years ago. They are retired. The Cape is a huge strata type community. House's have to be minimum of 8 star rating, all electronic and they pay a modest $1000 p/a to up keep all the community spaces. Graham describes the houses as like Lego blocks, lol. They clearly enjoy living there and people are still building new house's today although they think many are holiday homes. It's only 2 hrs from Melbourne by car 

Alison, Graham and their 2 dogs
Heart 1 Comment 0

I cycle further into the older Cape Paterson township, it's much more like what you expect of country towns, a mixture of building styles and age. With some having been well love and others not so much.

Finally I found my custard tart spot, Hut View, it was worth the effort. 

The spot is named after the huts build by miners from the State Coal Mine opened in 1909. They built them from what could found in the area, materials washed up from ships or acquired from the mine.

In 1952 the Lands Department notified the squatters they needed to leave and all the huts were demolished by 1956.

Nice spot to enjoy my custard tart
Heart 2 Comment 0

Further views along the coast as I cycle, stop to take photos and cycle some more.

View along the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another view along the coast and a stealthy trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

We headed onto the trail that cut across from one sealed road to another, saving us from going around and it was more interesting too. The 1 step halfway along was a challenge to get Lexi up. The bike with all the panniers onboard is really heavier than I can left, but using walk mode and determination we made it. 

Mmm what's that interesting looking rock
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eagles Nest. I think from this angle it looks like a rabbit coming out of the amorphous mass in a horror movie
Heart 2 Comment 0

The day ends at the Big 4 Inverloch.

My home for the night 🙂
Heart 2 Comment 1
Wendy NeadleySounds like a really interesting route, lots to see, thanks for sharing 😀
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 231 km (143 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0