Delegate to Bombala - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 27, 2024

Delegate to Bombala

Half day ride today and the suns out. The motor cycle guys are out earlier than me. I chatted to them last night around a small fire. They're from Melbourne out for a long weekend ride. 

I'm on the road after 9, late 😃

The countryside is a mixture of farmland and pine plantations, yes I figured out what the logging truck was carrying yesterday.

Pine plantations
Heart 0 Comment 0
Front gate
Heart 0 Comment 0

The hills tend to glide up and end with a tough last 50 m. Sometimes there a nice view and I can see the distant mountain range.

View
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like the golden grasses
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is one wooden bridge. They must get enough cyclists through here to add a warning sign. I walk across and yes,  it's a bit dodgy.

If I must
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last section of road into Bombala is the Monaro highway B23.  It feels busier already, but maybe that's my anxiety about tomorrow coming through. In no time I'm in Bombala.

As the sign says
Heart 1 Comment 0

Ooh I feel like I'm in an Ozzie country town all the cars are reversed parked on the main street. Maybe it's a NSW thing, the only other place I remember doing that is Hay on the Hay Plans in NSW.

Reserved parked cars is required
Heart 0 Comment 3
Mike AylingYes, it is a NSW regulation and makes a lot of sense when you think about it.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Brianna DallTo Mike AylingThanks Mike for clearing that up. Yes, it looked like a great idea. Cars wete expecting to stop and let others reverse in to park, that had the effect of slowing down the traffic for pedestrians. Plus cars could see cycles like me riding along the road before pulling out
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
durand de ZylvaHey Brianna, Bonang Rd looked scary. I would have been vulnerable when the road veered to the left.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

I'm on a cute little cabin at the caravan park tonight. Time to get some washing done today and get away early tomorrow morning. I have a big day 92kms! The motel is booked so I can just crawl into town and collapse if that's whats called for.

Home for the night
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 km (23 miles)
Total: 917 km (569 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0