Bombala to Cooma - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2024

Bombala to Cooma

The day started well my alarm went off at 6:30am and I was on the road at 8am. 

The BOM says it's cold, 4 degrees (centigrade) , feels like colder. Did I say I'm usually a fare weather cyclists. At home if it's 7 degrees or lower I don't ride to work, to cold!! Your fingers and toes go num and my noses runs.

Plus it's super foggy, something I've had little to do with in my life. I turned on my lights and set off, it's pretty.

View from my door this morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Foggy
Heart 1 Comment 0

Initially I'm on the Monaro highway for the first 20kms and I'm hoping the traffic won't be to bad on a Sunday, it ok. 2 trucks but both going the other way and everyone is giving me lots of space.

I cycle up away from the river and the fog.

Fog below
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farm gate, feels very Australian
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then back down into the fog. It's noticeably cold as I descend back into the fog. The forecast is for a cool 20C max today.

Down already
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dead tree
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have a long way to go today 97 kms and 1200m up with almost the same down. So I keep choofing along not spending to much time resting or taking photos. The views of the mountains on the horizon are impressive. 

I turn onto the The Snowy River Way. I did contemplate staying on the Monaro highway as it wasn't that busy and a slightly shorter route. In the end as I stood at the corner I saw 3 cars continue on the Monaro highway and and 1 turn off. Both routes will get me to Cooma on a sealed road. I took the road less traveled.

Windmills
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have a head wind 🙄

Windmills show up on the horizon. I soon realised I'm going to be riding up and right past them.

Here they come
Heart 0 Comment 0
They are very tall
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's 12 o'clock I need a rest. 4 hrs without stopping for more than taking photos and my legs are really starting to feel all the climbing. I walked the last part up to the windmills just to get a different feeling in my leg muscles.

There isn't really anywhere to stop so a farmer's driveway it is
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stop at the entry to a farm house driveway as there isn't anywhere else to get off the road and even this isn't ideal. 

I sit down to eat some cheese, kabana and crackers. They sell these all in one pack in the supermarket. For travelling they are great. I make myself stop for 20 minutes, my legs need the rest.

While I'm sitting there a car stops to check I'm ok, so nice. The farmer guy arrives and says hello. Then a few minutes later farmer lady arrives, she has a cute scruffy dog on the back tray. Both where happy for me to camp out on their driveway while I have lunch. Both are driving white Toyota utes, a theme for the afternoon. I lots count of how many white Toyota utes I saw during the afternoon, several where the same vehicle going about their farm business.

On the road again after lunch, I plan to stop at a cemetery in about 45 mins for a second lunch. I'm hoping for a seat and if I'm lucky a shelter to sit under.

Interesting tree
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turn onto Maffra road keeping a look out for the cemetery thats marked on the map. 

Maffra road. Yes I zoomed down and made it up without peddling 🙂
Heart 0 Comment 0

Soon becomes clear I've missed the cemetery. Mmm I decided to stop part way up the next hill near the Bobundra Nature Reserve. There not much here but a small turn out looks great, slightly out of the wind and iff the road. This time I get out my chair and commit to stopping for 30 mins. I've got a tuna, rice and corn thing for lunch. It's amazing, hunger does that to food. Sorry no photo, I forgot.

Just down the road from lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of the mountains off to the west
Heart 0 Comment 0
More views
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally I get to my last downhill. I zoom into Cooma and the Nebula Motel. My home for the night. 

Lexi trip counter says I've done 100kms, with the elevation this is the biggest day I have ever ridden.

Tomorrow I'm going to take a car all the way to Canberra and a friends house. I didn't want to ride the Monaro highway to Canberra as I've heard it's not pleasant due to the traffic.  I've realised my original back road plan is beyond my abilities. I'm also going to reassess my plans on how I get to Sydney, as I'm really over the hill climbs. There'll be a pause in my journal for a few days. 😎

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 1,017 km (632 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 3
durand de ZylvaThe road names around the Canberra region bring back memories. I lived in Canberra in the mid 80s. Monaro Highway was particular dangerous during the ski season. Lots of Sydney traffic in their BMW, Mercs etc doing 14o kph on Fridays and Sundays to and from the ski resorts.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Brianna DallTo durand de ZylvaThe scenery was stunning with the mountains and autumn colours. But yes the closer I got to Canberra the more traffic and sus driving I saw.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Julie Kenworthy Very much enjoying reading about your journey. What a great achievement. For a fellow e-bike tourer, very inspiring. Thx for doing the journal. Happy travels for what comes next.
Reply to this comment
4 days ago