Goongerah to Delegate - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2024

Goongerah to Delegate

Not in a rush this morning, yesterday's ride has given me some confidence that it won't take all day. Oh and guess what, my tent is dry!!

On the road again
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm on by way by 9, so on time 🙂

I pass a neighbours house. After the fires the government have people these grey transportable homes to live in. Nominally for 3 years while they rebuilt. But to rebuild you need to a have a hugely fire rated build that is almost impossible to get anyone to do so far from a major city centre. It's tricky and takes a lot of time.

I soon find myself at the national park camp ground, my original destination. I check it out, no one is there. Looks nice though.

Bunyip at the gate
Heart 1 Comment 0

I continue up and up, approximately 20kms of up. It's hard work and using up more of my battery than I'd like. The views are nice and very few cars.

View
Heart 2 Comment 0

The road has all sorts of markings on it pointing out dips, pot holes and eroded edges.

Them I come across piles of gravel. I think the road is in for some much needed TLC.

Road works ahead
Heart 0 Comment 0
TLC promised
Heart 0 Comment 0
View over farmland
Heart 2 Comment 0
Red road, I like it
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stop for a break at Bonang community hall. It has a free community BBQ and a power point. Yay! I make a coffee and plug Lexi in.

Coffee!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Power and shelter overhead.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oh and free wi-fi, plus toilets. Apart from the community hall only a couple of houses near by. Great spot for DIY lunch and a coffee.

With some extra charge in Lexi we attach the hill and make our way to the top 955m, wow! And it's definitely cooler up here. Mostly down hill to delegate.

Spring Creek Gap 955m
Heart 1 Comment 0

Suddenly I'm crossing the border into NSW.

NSW - Victorian border
Heart 1 Comment 0

The delegate river is the border here.

Very quickly the environment changes to cows and sheep paddocks and my first logging truck, oh dear.

Logging truck - 3 trailers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Paddocks
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road isn't really any busier and I make my way to Delegate.

Delegate
Heart 0 Comment 0

I get to the caravan park, no reception. I ring the council contact number, the text I should have got didn't happen so she sends me the codes to get into the toilet, shower and camp kitchen. Choose a spot and enjoy! There are only 2 motor cyclists and me here. Very quiet.

My home for the night
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 880 km (546 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0