Day 91: Collie to Nglang Boodja - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2022

Day 91: Collie to Nglang Boodja

Start: 8:55 am
Distance: 49 km
Ride time:  4:22hours
Average:  11km/hr 
Max: 38km/hr
Finish: 3:30pm

My camping neighbour came home at 10pm and watched his loud TV which woke me up.

It wasn't a very cold night. I slept in shorts and a tshirt. There was lots of condensation on the inside of my tent even though I had some ventilation bits open. 

I am still getting used to this tent. It's called Wilderness Equipment. It's owned by a Freo company (which is the main reason I bought it) and made in Vietnam.

It's a 2 person tent. More spacious than my last one. Takes longer to erect. Doing it in the rain would be a pain as the inside gets wet. It seems very sturdy. So far so good.

I went to the 'The Wagon' for breaky. There weren't many options. They made fine coffee, so go there if that makes you happy.

It was after 9:30am by the time I left town. Sometimes I'm tardy. It's hard to get moving early. Consider me the bottom achievement level. If I can do it, anyone can.

It was a perfect sunny day. It could not have been any better. Nice and cool in the shade and warm in the sunshine. 

Morning trail pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a small plantane insectivorous sun dew. I've never seen one like it.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sometimes it's tight between trees.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Evidence that emus use the Munda Biddi Trail.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A seriously big log.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Moo.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerHereford cattle.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A blue gum plantation. I personally planted 140,000 of these in my younger days.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's how I justify driving my old polluting car.

I saw these girls on a forest road.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I know little about horses. I know they don't like bicycles. It's best to stop and let them walk by you. Even though I stopped, the riders still had to encourage the horses to walk past me.

I prefer open single track like this.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Compared to enclosed forest like this.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It's hard to see the incline in photos. This was very steep. It's barely ridable.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm lucky I have good brakes. I checked the pads in Perth
Heart 3 Comment 0
There were technical switchbacks like this. I couldn't navigate them without dismounting.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There were some serious obstacles. Some of this stuff could easily snap a rear derailleur.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaYou've sure dedicated in getting through, well done
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The beautiful Collie River. I would easily swim/camp here in summer.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This steep rocky section was unridable on my touring bike.
Heart 4 Comment 0

After I crossed the Collie River, it was a little difficult to follow directions. The App helped greatly. 

Luckily I have very low gears. I rode up this doing 3.5kms/hr.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Another option to avoid the hill would be to ride the wrong way along a one-way road to avoid this bit. But I won't recommend this as it's illegal.

Today was surprisingly tough. Two big steep hills. Anyone who has made it this far is amazing.

I made it to the hut. No one else is here.

I went downhill to a stream.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's favourite comment from the hut book.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Serena sent me a Yoshi pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 5,063 km (3,144 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0