Day 70: Northampton to Geraldton - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2022

Day 70: Northampton to Geraldton

Start: 9:05 am
Distance:  64km
Ride time:  3:38hours
Average: 18 km/hr 
Max:  51km/hr
Finish: 2:25pm

I'm so warm and cosy in my sleeping bag in this cool weather that I find it very difficult to get up early.

It was overcast most of the day and it didn't rain. Wahoo!
Heart 3 Comment 0
More wheat and grazing country.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was like this all day.

Some galahs.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Maybe this is a grevillea?
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSeems to be. It pretty well matches photos.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=western+australia+yellow+grevallia&iax=images&ia=images&iai=https%3A%2F%2Fmedia.apnarm.net.au%2Fmedia%2Fimages%2F2017%2F12%2F03%2Fb881113453z1_20171203112007_000gv0t0iuv2-0-mmyg5wlp87syuyl5dp2_fct2535x1541_t460.jpg
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My first glimpse of the ocean.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I made it.
Heart 10 Comment 0

It was hilly all day. There was lots of traffic. There was little wind.

Geraldton has a nice board walk by the water.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I stopped by an electronic shop and bought a replacement power bank.

My tshirts are well beyond their use by date. They were stained lots and were threadbare. A couple weeks ago when it was hot, I was getting tanned on my back through the top.

Serena sent my new tops to the Geraldton post office.

My new look.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyLooking 😊 good!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I figured blue would stand out against the dusty colour of the outback and the green vegetation around Perth.

Geraldton has a big port with big silos. It exports iron ore and other stuff.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I could see 10 ships waiting offshore.

I had salmon and vegetables for lunch. It was great to eat vegetables again. I ate most of it before I thought of taking a photo.

I pitched my tent and plugged in my power banks to charge in the camp kitchen. Let's hope it's still there when I return after dinner.

I then found a nice bar with interesting art.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A healthy dinner. Way nicer than a roadhouse burger.
Heart 10 Comment 0
$32.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 4,136 km (2,568 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0