Day 7: East Baines rest area to Saddle Creek rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2022

Day 7: East Baines rest area to Saddle Creek rest area

Start: 6:30 am
Distance: 60 kms
Ride time: 3:26 hours
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 28km/hr
Finish: 10:45 am

Sunrise is about 7am so I rode in the dark for a short time. I have good lights on my bike.

Morning road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Snake Creek was dry.
Heart 2 Comment 0
West Baines River had a little water.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The ride today was flat again. 

Toward the end of the ride there were more pretty escarpments.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
This pic was taken from the rest area.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The water tanks were almost dry. There was a small trickle of water that was able to fill my water bladders.

Today, caravaners are my angels.

While I was filling up a kind caravaner came over and offered me water. He filled up my 2 water bottles.

I made some lunch and then Deb and Kim came over. They gave me 11 onions, 15 carrots, 5 tomatoes, 2 lettuce, and a cold sarsaparilla with a stubby holder.

Meet Deb and Kim.
Heart 8 Comment 0

They were heading west like I was. Today they will cross the border into Western Australia. There is a quarantine check point to stop people bringing in fresh produce. This is to stop diseases. Hence why I was given so much food from Deb and Kim.

A while later, another traveller filled up my water bottle with ice.

The last few days these tiny stingless bees have been harvesting something from my skin. Perhaps salt?
Heart 6 Comment 0

They are cute and harmless so I let them walk all over me.

This great bowerbird was hanging around picking up food scraps.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Great bowerbird.  

A storm brewed up and failed to rain down on me. It created a strong cooler wind that was welcome.

Another nice traveller gave me a sweet potato and two potatoes. I'll cook up a nice soup tonight.

The water tap on the tank is spring loaded. I could only get a trickle out of it. I thought this was due to there not being any water left but i was mistaken. The tap was faulty. 

I saw another person try to get water. He simply unscrewed the tap and then lots of water came gushing out. If only I had thought of doing that.

Free!
Heart 8 Comment 4
Lorenzo JaryI would love to cycle in Australia but two things I'd be worried about is how expensive everything is, and running out of water. Your journal gives some hope!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaIt's nice to know there are still alot of good people out willing to help their fellow man.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Lorenzo JaryHi Lorenzo, it is definitely possible to cycle here. It can be expensive staying in caravan parks all the time. It would be easy to stealth camp in many places. In remote places food can be difficult to find and is expensive. I think the most water I will need to carry is for two days but I have the capacity to carry 3 days worth of water. If you run out there are always plenty of grey nomads about that will help you.

I hope my journal motivates you to give it a try.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Annie O'SheaVery true
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 425 km (264 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Veronica JoinerI love the colours from up North. The reds, the bark on the trees and the spinifex.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago