Day 8: Saddle Creek rest area to Alan Kellet rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2022

Day 8: Saddle Creek rest area to Alan Kellet rest area

Start: 6:45 am
Distance: 54 kms
Ride time: 3:20 hours
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 27km/hr
Finish: 11am

It was very humid this morning. My tshirt was quickly saturated with sweat.

It's nice riding early in the morning. There's only an occasional road train for traffic.

It was a cloudy morning.
Heart 6 Comment 0

A small headwind sprung up which slowed me down a lot. 

Another big boab.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I arrived at the rest area and was pleased to find water in the tanks again.

While I was filling up a kind traveller gave me a frozen bottle of water.

The last few days I've been having trouble with these tiny red ants. They crawled up my bike, into my panniers, and into my macadamias, mashed potato, and soup mixes.

The caravaners have had similar problems. Rotten critters.

It really is amazing to have a shaded picnic table at a rest area. It's fantastic to sit on a bench out of the blazing sunshine.

I cooked up a fresh vegetable soup for lunch.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Unusually, there was a moderate wind blowing, making things a little cooler. I got my pillow out and lay down on the concrete bench. It felt amazing. Within a short time I was fast asleep. I had a great nap. I never thought concrete could be so comfortable. 

Today was a slow day on the bike. Maybe I'm getting fatigued. My back is still annoying me. It hurts every time I reach for my water bottle.

I will have a day off in Kununurra. Hopefully my back will heal itself.

I forgot to take a pic of my camp set up. I erected my tent under a covered picnic table area.

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 479 km (297 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0