Day 62: Carnarvon to Edaggee rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2022

Day 62: Carnarvon to Edaggee rest area

Start: 7:35 am
Distance: 81 km
Ride time: 4:06 hours
Average: 20 km/hr 
Max: 27 km/hr
Finish:  12:55 pm

My campsite was at the back of the campground away from the noisy road. I had a quiet night's sleep.

I awoke to a still and overcast day, and the terrain turned out to be flat, great for cycling.

A small mango plantation on the edge of town.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The space museum.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Unfortunately I arrived too late yesterday and departed too early this morning to go to this. I also missed out on the cultural centre.

Another blue tree on the edge of town.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A lovely overcast day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Small saltbush vegetation.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Even though I had good cycling conditions today, I was still a little fatigued from my big day yesterday. 

I was happy to arrive at the rest area early so I could rest my lazy legs in the afternoon. 

Someone came over and said hello. He had last seen me in Kununurra, NT. That was 7 weeks ago. 

This is a big rest area and I expect lots of caravans will stay the night. There are toilets here and a defibrillator. It's the first time I've seen one at a rest area. A great idea.

There are lots of little birds flying about constantly tweeting. It's very nice.

Free!
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 3,713 km (2,306 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0