Day 50: Yannarie rest area to Garalia Homestay - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2022

Day 50: Yannarie rest area to Garalia Homestay

Start: 8:45 am
Distance: 88 km
Ride time: 4:41 hours
Average: 19 km/hr 
Max: 33km/hr
Finish: 2:30 pm

It was a full moon last night and I watched it rise from the horizon. My phone couldn't take a good picture. 

I had a good tailwind for the first half of the day. 

I saw this grevillea.
Heart 6 Comment 1

It was full of lovely tasting nectar. I took the nectar from a few flowers before getting back on my bike.

The terrain was mostly flat with some small rises.
Heart 2 Comment 0
After doing 40kms, I turned north west towards Exmouth.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Veronica JoinerI hope you get a chance to snorkelling. Enjoy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThat's the plan!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron MACKENZIEWe took an Army convoy up through there a bit over 30 years ago with a crew from WA Museum. We spent some time on Giralia station searching for dinosaur bones and other fossils (before I was classified as a fossil myself!). The trip took us a couple of weeks and we went up as far as Fitzroy Crossing then back again. A great memory!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThat's awesome Ron. I don't think the place has changed much in 30 years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I will get off the main highway for a few days to explore this area.

I think these are orange Sturt desert peas.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaThey are truly beautiful and I'd say you're right
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaThey are truly beautiful and I'd say you're right
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A small yellow flower.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Once I turned off the highway, the wind became a crosswind which slowed me down a little.

After a couple hours, I turned off the main road and followed a dirt track for 4kms to the Giralia Homestay.

It's like a big station and will be turned into a national park in the near future.

I was happy to see a few dogs about the place.
Heart 3 Comment 0
And another bicycle.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I could ride 25kms down a rough corrugated track to the beach and camp there but I am too lazy. I chose to stay next to the homestead. 

$30.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 3,048 km (1,893 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Chris DAVIDSONSturt Desert Peas a classic. Did someone confirm????
Reply to this comment
1 year ago