Day 23: Adcock Gorge to Imintji - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2022

Day 23: Adcock Gorge to Imintji

Start: 6:40 am
Distance: 53 km
Ride time: 3:31 hours
Average: 15 km/hr
Max: 46 km/hr
Finish: 10:45 am

It was a peaceful night without any other campers.

I was excited to have honey with my morning porridge. I had bought it at Mt Barnett Roadhouse. 

Early morning pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Billy Goat Springs.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The first part of the road this morning was quite hilly. Then it became flat and smooth. I was able to maintain a higher speed.

Cattle on the road.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Veronica Joinerthey are thinking "funny human" hee
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYep, you're right.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Escarpment pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Grave Creek.
Heart 5 Comment 0

When I arrived at Imintji there was a tour bus here. I have seen them four times in the past week. We greeted each other and then I bought a couple of cold drinks.

The Imintji store is very small. They have a few canned goods and not much else. I did score a bacon and egg roll and some chips for morning tea.

The campground is nice with facilities and usb charging points. It is large and there are only a few campers here. Nice and quiet.

Campground view.
Heart 8 Comment 0

At the campground, I met Ove from New Zealand. He has walked the Nullarbor and walked up the centre from Port Augusta to Darwin. And he did it when he was 65. Amazing stuff.

I'm intrigued about doing big walks like that. It would be so challenging. It makes riding a bike seem so easy.

I went back to the store in the afternoon and got a cold iced coffee. The kind lady made me 2 salad sandwiches for dinner. So much more delicious than dehydrated meals.

$19
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 1,120 km (696 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0