Day 22: Manning Gorge to Adcock Gorge - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2022

Day 22: Manning Gorge to Adcock Gorge

Start: 7:15 am
Distance: 48 km
Ride time: 3:26 hours
Average: 14 km/hr
Max: 58 km/hr
Finish: 12:30 pm

I had a rough night sleep. Too many people making noise. The camp generator started up at 5am too.

This is the 7km sandy track from Manning Gorge to Mt Barnett Roadhouse.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There is a drinking water hose out the front and I filled up while I waited for the shop to open at 8am.

I bought an iced coffee milk and a bacon and egg muffin for breakfast. I bought two salad wraps for the day. And I bought some fruit and vegetables. 

This cost $65. I'm grateful they're here and open. It must cost a lot in freight.

The roadhouse and the campground are owned by the local indigenous community. I think they're doing a good job.

Mt Barnett Roadhouse.
Heart 8 Comment 0

After my great breakfast I headed off down the Gibb again.

A recent burn.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The other side of the road.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After a while I came to Galvans Gorge. It's a 1km walk from the main road. I was able to ride my bike halfway along the path.

It was a nice small swimming hole with a small waterfall.
Heart 13 Comment 0

Next was the long climb up Phillips Pass. I think it took me an hour to get to the top. The view at the top was obstructed by trees.

I think the downhill went for 2kms. It was fast and a bit risky on the loose gravel and corrugations. 

At the bottom of the pass is a tyre repair business. I thought I would try to get my stand fixed there.

Bummer.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I got lots of waves today. I get lots of waves every day. I find it motivating. 

I reached the turnoff for Adcock Gorge. It is 5kms off the road and I heard the track was poor.

The bumpy track.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The track was manageable. The carpark at the end is a few hundred metres from the Gorge.

I swapped shoes for the walk.

Today's dust tan.
Heart 10 Comment 0
The effort to get here was worth it.
Heart 11 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthySpectacular ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This is the biggest gorge swimming hole I've seen. I jumped in the water and washed the filth off my body and had a lovely swim.

I saw some rock art.
Heart 8 Comment 0
And a pretty flower.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This bird was in a boab tree.
Heart 8 Comment 0

It's a white-bellied cuckoo-shrike

Tonight I'm camping in the carpark to the Gorge. 

Cattle in the carpark.
Heart 3 Comment 0

At 4:45pm I was getting ready for bed. A 4WD drove in and went to the Gorge.  They returned quickly as it was getting dark. 

We spoke briefly and then I was offered 4 cold bourbon and dry cans. One of my favourite drinks.

How amazing. And they were from Canberra too.

I didn't get their names. Thanks everyone! So kind.
Heart 9 Comment 0

There is no one else here. I put on some tunes and enjoyed the drinks.

There's a sign back on the main road stating 'for day use only.' Again I assume this doesn't apply to old weary cyclists.

Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 1,067 km (663 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Annie O'SheaAm I doing something wrong, can't get any of your photos up on this blog
Reply to this comment
1 year ago