Day 2: Limestone rest area to Mathison rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2022

Day 2: Limestone rest area to Mathison rest area

Start: 8:35 am
Distance: 46 kms
Ride time: 2:30 hours
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 37km/hr
Finish: 11:30 am

I slept well although there were several road trains during the night.

I was lazy getting up because I knew I had a short day ahead.

Today's tree pic.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Scott Creek was dry.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was elated to get this pic of a dingo.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaWow you were very lucky to get such a good photo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It was about 20 metres from me. He ran into the bush soon after i took this pic.

Mathison Creek was dry too.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had another small tailwind today. I love tailwinds!

The traffic was friendly again. I had one nervous moment when an oncoming road train was being overtaken by a truck. I was lucky there was a good shoulder on this section of road.

I arrived early at Mathison rest area. There are shaded tables here and water tanks.

Tomorrow will be a big day. I contemplated riding a bit further today except the shaded tables were too nice to leave.

I'll have to get up early tomorrow to make up for my easy day today.

I met a kind couple who invited me into their caravan for a beer and a chat.

Meet Jackie and Trevor.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerIt is the people you meet that make the journey so interesting and memorable.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 119 km (74 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0