Day 181: Sale to Bairnsdale - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 25, 2022

Day 181: Sale to Bairnsdale

Start: 7:45am
Distance: 75km
Ride time: 3:26hours
Average: 22km/hr 
Max: 42km/hr
Finish: 12:30pm

There are lots of trees in the caravan park.  I woke up to a few laughing kookaburras. 

The road to Stratford was flat and I had a crosswind. The landscape was dairy and beef cattle farms.

Crossing the Avon River at Stratford.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After Stratford, I changed direction which gave me a good tailwind. 

I had a good wide shoulder for the rest of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was glad to have the shoulder as the traffic was busy.

I saw a huge bike at the front of someone's farm.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 9 Comment 0
I found a nice bike path in the middle of the road when I got to Bairnsdale.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Unfortunately it only lasted for 1km.

Bairnsdale's old court house looks like a castle.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I had a healthy and tasty dinner from Earth and Soul Pizza.😋
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was lovely to catch up with my uncle Daniel and his fiancè Ree.

$27.50.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 10,476 km (6,506 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingSince Adelaide I have ridden your route at various times and stayed in many of the places that you did.
From tomorrow it will all be new to me.
You must be pleased to be getting to the end at last!
The Rohloff obviously still running well .
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Mike,

Yes, I'll be glad to be home. It might take me quite some time to get adjusted to a life not on the road. I think about it every day now I'm so close.

The Rohloff has been great. Can't complain.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago