Day 182: Bairnsdale to Nowa Nowa - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 26, 2022

Day 182: Bairnsdale to Nowa Nowa

Start: 9:35am
Distance: 62km
Ride time: 3:49hours
Average: 16km/hr 
Max: 40km/hr
Finish: 3:05pm

I didn't feel well last night. I slept poorly during the night and then slept through my alarm. I only woke up because my tent became hot from the morning sunshine. 

I had hoped to do a big day to Newmerella. Today I will aim for Nowa Nowa. 

I started on another rail trail.
Heart 6 Comment 0
It began on lovely smooth bitumen.
Heart 8 Comment 0

It's so nice to be away from the noise and smell of traffic. There were lots of birds tweeting about.

The Nicholson River.
Heart 8 Comment 0
The path turned to a nice hard packed gravel surface.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sometimes the trail was dirt. It was nice to be shaded by the trees.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I stopped in Bruthen for lunch. It is a small town and was busy with many people also stopping for lunch.

Between Bruthen and Nowa Nowa, a Trail Angel had left a water drum for cyclists to use.
Heart 7 Comment 0
An open section of the trail.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the Stony Creek Trestle Bridge built in 1916. It's made from red ironbark and grey box timber.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I saw about 40 cyclists using the trail today. Only one of them was carrying camping gear. All of them were heading towards Bairnsdale. It was great to see the trail well used.

I arrived in Bruthen to find 2 cafes and the pub were closed. The general store was open.

This trailer with wooden wheels was in the main street next to the caravan park I stayed at.
Heart 6 Comment 0

There was no reception office for the park so I phoned them and paid for a site with a credit card.

Nice stained glass in the camp kitchen.
Heart 7 Comment 0
$35.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 10,538 km (6,544 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0