Day 179: Inverloch to Yarram - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 23, 2022

Day 179: Inverloch to Yarram

Start: 6:35am
Distance: 105km
Ride time: 4:46hours
Average: 22km/hr 
Max: 47km/hr
Finish: 1pm

My hotel bed was too soft for me so I ended up on the floor with my inflatable mattress. I'm so comfortable on a camping mattress these days. Perhaps I've been on the road too long?

This is the road to Fish Creek.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was a little undulating and the traffic would overtake me on hill crests by moving into the oncoming lane of other cars/trucks/buses. No one wanted to slow down and wait for 30 seconds. 

The temperature was mild and there were frequent misty rain showers. I had a strong tailwind which made everything good.

I was happy to stop in Fish Creek to avoid one of the showers. I enjoyed a good hot coffee.

At Fish Creek I jumped on a rail trail.
Heart 7 Comment 0
It was pretty and fantastic to be away from the traffic for a while.
Heart 7 Comment 0
There were a few obstacles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This was the path of least resistance. Can you see my bike?
Heart 9 Comment 0
I utilised this shelter in Foster to avoid another rain shower.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The rail trail continued through some open dairy country.
Heart 4 Comment 0
And crossed a few farm lane ways covered in sloppy cow poo.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Veronica JoinerDarn dairy cows should have held it for that bit. : ) Did you carry your bike across??
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyThis is where they should roll out the red carpet.😆💕
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaBetter you than me, make sure you don't slip
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI didn't want to get any on my shoes so I rode through it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I waited out yet another rain shower in a shelter in Welshpool.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Sadly the rail trail ended here. I had enjoyed the trail for 35kms. I had seen a few people walking and jogging but no other bikes. 

There were two bike tracks in front of me probably left by Scott and Bren a couple days ago. (Scott's blog is on the other website.)

I hopped on the road to Yarram. It had a good shoulder the whole way.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The tailwind was still going strong and I was flying along doing 30+kms/hr.

Lots of water about and green hills in the distance.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Hello to the Gunaikurnai people. 🙂
Heart 6 Comment 0
Some farmgate protesting.👎🏻 I like windfarms. 👍🏻
Heart 5 Comment 0
A blue tree in Alberton.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Some good street art in Yarram:

Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyVery impressive art work!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I had a yummy roast dinner at the Country Club.

$30.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 105 km (65 miles)
Total: 10,319 km (6,408 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0