Day 164: Salt Creek to Kingston SE - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 8, 2022

Day 164: Salt Creek to Kingston SE

Start: 5:30am
Distance: 93km
Ride time:  n/a hours
Average:  n/a km/hr 
Max: 33km/hr
Finish: 10:30am

It was going to reach 31 degrees today so I was on my bike just before dawn.

I saw the moon on the horizon.
Heart 10 Comment 0
The roadway was vegetated, surrounded by sheep grazing country. The terrain was flat.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The wind was forcast to be a crosswind and actually became a tailwind. 

A small deer ran across the road in front of me.

I saw this footprint on the sand in Coorong National Park and wasn't sure if it was a pig, deer, or goat. Now I guess it was a deer.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This fox was munching into some roadkill.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Someone had placed this old bike frame on the roadside in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some farmgate protesting.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A big thing in Kingston SE.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Kingston has SE (South East) after the name to distinguish it from Kingston on the Murray. It is about 300kms north of here.

The beachside road has a light house. It is the Cape Jaffa lighthouse originally built on Margaret Brook Reef in 1868. It was moved here in 1975.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had brunch and made camp. Then I had a little nap.

Later, on my way to the shops I met Dave. He is riding a Surly fat bike for a couple of weeks from Adelaide.
Heart 6 Comment 0

We chatted for a while and then again later at the campground. He has bike toured a lot in Asia.

There is a RV park in town that costs $15 for 3 nights. There is green grass and toilets. For some silly reason they don't allow tents.

I was tired and had an early night. 

$35.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 93 km (58 miles)
Total: 9,319 km (5,787 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0