Day 155-157: Rest days - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 30, 2022

Day 155-157: Rest days

I stayed at the same park for these days. The weather was terrible. It rained and sometimes hailed. The wind was more than 60kms/hr.

The ferry didn't operate during this time. In hindsight, I would have preferred to stay on KI as then I would have access to a shop. Cape Jervis only has a pub.

I didn't predict I would be stationary for 3 days. 

I almost left on Sunday. I packed everything into my paniers and only had to pack up my tent. And then this huge storm front came in.

I studied the weather forecast and just gave up. I didn't want to cycle in it.  When the front had passed, I set up my bed and just lay in my sleeping bag to keep warm.

On Monday, the apparent (feels like) temperature didn't get above 2 degrees. 

I think this is the first time I have had more than one rest day due to bad weather. 

Usually I would persevere and keep pedalling. I just wasn't motivated. I think being with Serena was part of it. We had such a lovely time and I was struggling being without her again.

The caravan park sold some very basic food supplies and this saved me from riding to the pub for dinner in the bad weather. 

I spent most of my time binge watching tv on my phone and reading. I didn't even realise the Melbourne Cup was on until the next day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0