Day 154: Kangaroo Island to Cape Jervis - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 29, 2022

Day 154: Kangaroo Island to Cape Jervis

These were some chilled out roos this morning.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was eager to get back on my bike and continue my ride home even though I could have stayed another night on KI.

I changed my ferry booking to today. The man on the phone said: "Sunday is going to be bad weather. Best to get off the island while you still can."

I returned the hire car. I/we had done 910kms in 4 days. KI is about 150kms x 50kms. The touristy things are spread out over the island.

It's possible to ride on KI with most of the roads being unsealed. It's hilly and supplies and accommodation are very minimal. I'm glad I met Serena here and that we had a car.

The hire car insurance options are limited too. One company doesn't allow you to use dirt roads. The other company doesn't allow you to drive after dark.

I was happy to see my bike was still in a Penneshaw carpark.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Farewell to the blue waters of KI.
Heart 9 Comment 0
At last my bike was securely attached in a safe manner.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was only a few kms to the caravan park. Even so, it felt amazing to be back on my bike again. I'm much happier than I would have been staying on KI another day without Serena.

A random piece of art on the roadside.
Heart 8 Comment 0
This farmer was making hay while the sun shines. Tomorrow may get 20mm of rain.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I'm staying in the campground which is a few kms uphill from the Cape Jervis town.

$33
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0