Day 158: Cape Jervis to Port Elliot - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 2, 2022

Day 158: Cape Jervis to Port Elliot

Start: 9:25am
Distance: 68km
Ride time:  3:58hours
Average:  17km/hr 
Max: 77km/hr!
Finish: 3pm

I was packed up ready to depart for 45 minutes but it kept raining so I waited it out in the camp kitchen.

Soon after leaving I saw these two guys.
Heart 7 Comment 0

They were making deep vocalisations and making their neck feathers stand out.

After a big uphill, I turned down a dirt road to take a short cut. It saved me from doing 4kms.

It was a little bit wet from all of the rain.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were lots of rolling hills of green grass today with sheep and dairy cows.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The big downhill to Victor Harbour. I reached a max speed of 77km/hr! A record for me. Wahoo!
Heart 6 Comment 0
I had a delicious hot breakfast meal for lunch.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was a cold day and I was grateful for the lunch and a chance to warm up.

A nice whale tail sculpture in a park.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The beach was mostly covered in washed up sea grass.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This looks like a school class doing body boarding lessons. The waves weren't very good for them.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I found some bike directions that followed the coastline to Port Elliot. Silly google maps wasn't aware of this route.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Tayinbari-angk (Horseshoe Bay) beach was nice yet too cold for me to swim today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
An interesting rock with Seagull Island in the background.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This campground is next to the beach yet I was surprised with the fee of $43 for a powered site. There are no unpowered sites.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 8,980 km (5,577 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0