Day 148: Adelaide to Aldinga - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 23, 2022

Day 148: Adelaide to Aldinga

Start: 9am
Distance: 52km
Ride time:  3:12hours
Average:  16km/hr 
Max: 52km/hr
Finish: 1:30pm

I slept better last night on my inflatable mattress. 

It was raining when I left.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It continued to rain all day while I was riding so I don't have any photos.

I started off wearing my waterproof pants and jacket. After a while, my legs got too hot so I took the pants off.

I rode for a few kms to get out of the city. Then I was on a separated bike path next to an express way. This was good although a little hilly. 

After 35kms, I left the express way and was on smaller roads. There was a lot of traffic and at times there was no shoulder. My presence angered one silly driver.

I stopped in Moana at a bakery for a delicious lunch. By now I was pretty wet from rain and sweat. 

Reluctantly I got back on the bike and rode past a few wineries (without stopping) to Aldinga. 

The caravan park is a few kms from the shops and from the beach. I made camp in the rain and used the laundry to dry my clothes.

I hung out in the camp kitchen for the rest of the day.
Heart 5 Comment 0

If it had of stopped raining I would have ridden to the beach.

This magpie took some cracker crumbs from me.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This was a nice private campsite, surrounded by a few bushes. $30.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 8,845 km (5,493 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rita McCarthyYes, I think a lot of people have definitely had enough rain for now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago