Day 147: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 21, 2022

Day 147: Rest day

I was pleased to find the city was very quiet early this morning.

I went to a camping store to buy a few more tent pegs as I've broken and lost a couple since Perth. 

Perhaps Pepper the Pig escaped?
Heart 8 Comment 0

I went to the SA Museum. A friend I met on the shark cage dive recommended it as she knew the curator of the Aboriginal exhibition. 

It was the best Aboriginal exhibition I've ever seen. There were so many artifacts with lots of examples and different variations from around Australia. 

These spears are from the late 1800s and early 1900s.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Some food examples.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A Darling River bark canoe from 1910.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is a Killalpaninna fish charm made from galah feathers from 1900. It's my favourite exhibit.
Heart 6 Comment 0
These are various plant based poisons to help catch fish.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Some of the poisons.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is a water bag made from kangaroo skin from 1913.
Heart 7 Comment 0
An Albemarle millstone.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Stone axes.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Opposite the museum were some large gum leaves on a building.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The streets were now crowded with the weekend shoppers.

There were a few skilled street performers.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some more alleyway art.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I found a quiet French bar to spend the afternoon.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A balanced dinner of salad and chippies.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The hotel bed was too soft for me last night so tonight I will sleep on my mattress.
Heart 7 Comment 3
Veronica JoinerI bet it had a pillow topper on it. To soft for me too
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyI’d definitely be in the bed😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyPerhaps I've become too hardened for the comforts of a normal life?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Serena sent me a lovely pic of Yoshi in the park today.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0