Day 149: Aldinga to Kangaroo Island - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 24, 2022

Day 149: Aldinga to Kangaroo Island

Start: 9:30am
Distance: 67km
Ride time:  4:18hours
Average:  15km/hr 
Max: 73km/hr!
Finish: 4pm

The day's forecast was for a headwind and 20mm of rain. Suboptimal when I have a deadline to catch the ferry.

I headed toward beautiful green hills covered in low misty clouds.
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way up I paused to look down at the ocean.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Climbing up the hills.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyScary! Glad you are ok.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Shortly after, there was no shoulder. A car coming towards me overtook a truck while going downhill, completely disregarding my presence on the road. I had to swerve off the road to avoid a head on collision with the car. This made me unhappy for a while.

I stopped in Myponga for a coffee and to warm up a bit.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Kathleen ClassenDon’t blame you for being unhappy for awhile. Drivers who overtake when a cyclist is on the road puzzle me. Are they distracted or just stupid?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This little buck was standing his ground while stomping his feet at me while his does ran off and hid behind a tree.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Lush green grass and big hills.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The low clouds were full of misty precipitation making me a little wet. I was happy to stop in Yankalilla for a hot pie from the bakery.

A farmer parked his New Holland T7.190 tractor outside the bank while he went into the bakery for lunch too.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I love this sort of this thing. It doesnt happen in Canberra. 

The road descended to the beach for this awesome view.
Heart 10 Comment 0

Then the road started climbing straight away. Once I was in the hills again, the misty clouds became very dense. 

Visibility was reduced to 100 metres. Cars didn't slow down or put on their headlights. There wasn't too much traffic yet I had to keep my wits about me.

At times when there wasn't any traffic, it was almost surreal with the hills and the mist. Such a contrast to the Nullarbor. I loved it.

This curious emu was in a cow paddock and came over to say hi.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Some eerie sugar gums.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The wind must blow from the one direction up here.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Annie O'Sheal I oks almost ghost like, great photo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyIt was very eerie.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I saw this slightly creepy farmgate display.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The visibility became worse. I had no option except to continue.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After a long day I had climbed 725m in total. It was time to be rewarded!
Heart 7 Comment 0

I was pleased to hit 73km/hr going downhill. I think this a record for me on a loaded touring bike.

This is the lighthouse near the ferry terminal. It looks very modern. I prefer the old stone ones.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I bought my ticket at the ferry at 2:50pm and was told to board straight away as the ferry would depart at 3pm.

They tied my bike up next to a fire flap. 🙄
Heart 4 Comment 0
It was a short 45 minute ride to Kangaroo Island(KI).
Heart 4 Comment 0

Serena had flown to KI and it was very nice to see her.

We checked into the caravan park and dumped our stuff. 

And found a big koala.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Veronica Joinergreat to see you Serena
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We had a nice dinner at the hotel with a view of the water.
Heart 6 Comment 0
We watched dolphins in the distance while we ate. It was pretty cool.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Our glamping tent for tonight. It had aircon and an ensuite. $$$
Heart 9 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaAt least you had all your creature comforts, that's important after all the hard yards. Enjoy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyIt felt like cheating.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 8,912 km (5,534 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0