Day 140: Coffin Bay to Port Lincoln - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 15, 2022

Day 140: Coffin Bay to Port Lincoln

Start: 9:50am
Distance: 54km
Ride time:  3:02hours
Average:  18km/hr 
Max: 50km/hr
Finish: 2pm

I was woken during the night by rain and then kangaroos jumping around and munching on grass. They were gone by the time I got up.

The emus were still around.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 9 Comment 0
There was lots of green pastures today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This water body is called 'Big Swamp.' Mum and her cygnets.
Heart 9 Comment 0
A swan on it's nest.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Farmgate art.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The driver's door. If you know what a hundredweight is then you're older than I am. I had to google it.
Heart 3 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltYeah, I only knew because I read about it as a kid. It varies though... In the US it is 100 pounds in British areas, 112. Funny they would call 112 pounds a hundred weight, except it is based on 8 stones, which also is a confusing measurement... Metric is so much simpler!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Bill. Geoff is 75 and he struggled to remember too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaNow you're making me feel very old,I learnt it at school son so thanks for making me feel ancient
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthySo what's a hundredweight in kgs then?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
An amazing callistemon display.
Heart 11 Comment 1
Cheryl IvesBeautiful red!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
On the way into town, I stopped at Boston Beans for an awesome coffee.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I then went to a French cafe for a fine lunch.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Lots of tall grain silos by the port.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I checked into the caravan park and recognised Geoff's tent. He must be scampering about the town.

The jetty by the caravan park.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I went to a brewery in the hope that an ale will cure what ails me.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Craig DallyThat's the Vince I know!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyDon't be a tattletale now Craig. What happens on a bike trip stays on a bike trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This place had a comprehensive list of various contacts for mental health assistance. This was on every table.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Geoff soon tracked me down.
Heart 10 Comment 3
Craig DallyGood luck on your travels Geoff.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyLooking good, Vince.💕😃 Hope the cold gets better soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThe cold has mostly healed now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This will be the last time I see Geoff.  He will keep on riding tomorrow and will soon head east to his home town of Albury, while I'll head south east following the coast.

I will stay here for 3 nights. I need to wait until Monday to do a frightful and playful adventure day.

The extra rest day should help heal my cold too.

$34.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 8,411 km (5,223 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0