Day 126: Mundrabilla to Border Village - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2022

Day 126: Mundrabilla to Border Village

Start: 6:15am
Distance: 80km
Ride time:  5:08hours
Average:  16km/hr 
Max: 27km/hr
Finish: 12:30pm

I was woken at 12:30am by a neighbouring tent. They were yelling at their dog Dave, because he wouldn't settle down. This went on for 30 minutes. 

Another headwind was forecast for today. The wind is calm until an hour after sunrise. So I wanted to make an early start. 

Both Craig and I enjoyed a cooked breakfast. It was great and kept me full of energy for a few hours.

Unfortunately, by the time I hit the road, I only had 30 minutes of calm conditions before the relentless headwind started.

After a while, I rested my bike against a road marker.

This snail was resting at the top.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMatches images of invasive white Italian snail.

https://pir.sa.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0018/273006/White_Italian_snail.pdf
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. I searched this one when I did the blog and was overwhelmed with the many different snail species.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a white Italian snail. Thanks Bill!

I was surprised to see a snail in such a dry environment. 

This big load is a yacht called Morpheus.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Craig caught up to me and overtook me for the rest of the day.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Ants were stealing nectar from this flower.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAnd in exchange pollinating the flowers.

Nice shot!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Today's road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another truck carrying a big thing.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After riding on the flats for a few days, it was time to climb the Eucla Pass.

This is the view of some sand dunes and the beach about 5kms away.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I stopped at the Eucla roadhouse for an iced coffee.

I found a happy beached whale.
Heart 8 Comment 0
And found a see-saw in a small playground. I haven't seen one for years because they are a bit dangerous.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltDecades since I have seen one too! Yeah, I think most of us older folks have been injured by those things...

They teach you to be careful and to not trust your buddy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This little bee was having a rest on my finger.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Another National Park.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the South Australian and Western Australian border.
Heart 6 Comment 0

They are only stopping people heading into Western Australia so I proceeded unimpeded. 

Wahoo!
Heart 8 Comment 3
Annie O'SheaCongratulations and well done, what a major effort
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Veronica JoinerWell done, not far now
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Border Village still operates on the Central Western time zone instead of on Adelaide's Central time zone. It's a bit confusing. I'm keeping my clocks on Perth time until I get closer to Adelaide. 

Western Australia is a very big state. I have done a whopping 6,833kms travelling around it!

A patriotic kangaroo with a jar of vegemite.
Heart 7 Comment 1
The roadhouse here has a good selection of food. I found some vitamins.
Heart 6 Comment 0
$15.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 7,361 km (4,571 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
tony rockHi Vince. Good to see your still going. I'm over in the Sollies ATM. I'm going on a bike ride early tomorrow morning to a Japanese war memorial. There are some steep hills and it'll be hot, but worth the effort. Sandra is still in Sydney looking after our Jack Russell pup, Peggy. All the best. Keep at it. Tony
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Mr Tony,

Enjoy the Sollies and your ride! Hi to Sandra and Peggy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago