Day 125: Moondini Bluff rest area to Mundrabilla - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 29, 2022

Day 125: Moondini Bluff rest area to Mundrabilla

Start: 7:50am
Distance: 93km
Ride time:  6:15hours
Average:  15km/hr 
Max: 27km/hr
Finish: 3:45pm

It was another cold night and I was slow to get up.

When I rose I found 4 mandarins on my picnic table.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I had spoken to 4 different people last night. I assume one them left the fruit. Very kind.

This big truck was carrying a silo.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Today's road pic surrounded by trees. This wasn't typical for the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Most of the day was saltbush.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had a headwind all day.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Being flat and open country there was no where to get a break from it.

I passed another Flying Doctors airstrip and did my best Beatles impression.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Sandra LawnFunny
The things we do to keep ourselves amused on the Nullarbor

Your going great
Cheers Sandy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Sandy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
It's so windy, even the trees can't grow straight.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was a long and tough day. I stopped every 10kms to have quick breaks. 

I got a few waves from truckies today. Perhaps they were acknowledging that I was battling a headwind.

I was very happy to arrive at the roadhouse. I haven't had a shower for a few days and my clothes were white from sweaty salt stains.

After I made camp, I went to the roadhouse for dinner and was happily surprised to see Craig.

He had continued riding when I had a rest day a few days ago. The recent headwinds had slowed him too, enabling me to catch him.

We had roast meat and veggies for dinner. There was even broccoli. It's been a long time since I've enjoyed a plate of vegetables. 

$25.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 93 km (58 miles)
Total: 7,281 km (4,522 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0