Day 121: Baxter's rest area to Caiguna - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2022

Day 121: Baxter's rest area to Caiguna

Start: 7:50am
Distance: 69km
Ride time:  3:07hours
Average:  22km/hr 
Max: 29km/hr
Finish: 11:30am

At 7pm last night as I was getting ready for sleep, a caravan pulled in and parked not too far away. They then proceeded to use their generator. They finally turned it off at 10:30pm.

This is the latest I've heard a caravan generator. The unwritten rule is to turn them off at 8pm.

This motivates me to do more bush camping away from everyone. My trouble is that I really appreciate a picnic table that has a cover. It's much more civilised than sitting in the dirt and dust.

This morning I had a small tailwind/crosswind. 

I only have 69 more kms of this straight road to go.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Easy peesy.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaLooking good Vince, great photo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Today's big truck was carrying swimming pools.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Grassy plains.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Today's mallee tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the Ciaguna Blowhole.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Somehow it is formed by erosion and creates a hole to limestone caves below.

I arrived in Caiguna 5kms later and was disappointed there was no congratulating sign at the end of the 146km straight road.

Ciaguna is a typical roadhouse/bar/motel/caravan park. There is no town. I will have a rest day tomorrow so I paid for two nights.

At the roadhouse I met Ben and Jay. Nice and friendly guys.
Heart 5 Comment 0

They are riding 14,000kms around Australia and are doing it way quicker than I. They are doing an average of 185kms/day. I think they are doing 370kms today! They have one support vehicle.

These are their bikes.
Heart 5 Comment 0

They are raising money for mental health for Mindfull Australia. You can read more here.

Craig turned up and made camp too. We later had dinner together. I wished him well for the rest of his ride.

$25.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 6,999 km (4,346 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0