DAY 28 - YARMOUTH (end) - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2022

DAY 28 - YARMOUTH (end)

Last night in the MSR tent included left over fries that traveled from downtown Digby. They were cold but yummy!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Day 28 - After an outstanding evening around that campfire and last-night tenting at Digby NS .... I was refueled and ready to push through to Yarmouth - where it all began on June 15.

The forecast is the topic of this day.  Sunny, temperatures comfy, but winds 20 mph gusting to 30 mph.  Yes, the CAT ferry even cancelled service today for rough seas.

I honestly was dreading it, but I had to go, so off I went at 7 am.   Not much wind for the first part 101 / 1 West.  This section was relatively flat and comfy to ride. 

 At Exit 28, 1 West along the coast is when the winds started.  It was directly into my face all day!  After lunch is when the double fun came - rolling terrain with wind and gusts.  

A lady I met along the route told me she had not seen this type of wind for a long time.  I thought, " lucky me..."

To add to the mind games, I saw three pairs of touring cyclists heading East with a nice refreshing tailwind.  In past days, I'd be saying to myself, they are in for it.  But, today the joke was on me - payback from the cycling gods!

CLOSED
Heart 4 Comment 0
This little light was located behind and to the left of CLOSED place.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Something to read .... Later
Heart 2 Comment 0

This route would be great without the breeze .... 

Fishing Boats have so much character....I beat they have a lot of stories to tell....
Heart 3 Comment 0

....but it wore me down.  The miles just seemed to be not adding up as fast as my mind was calculating.  

Saw the GEM today. Churches come in all shapes and sizes in Nova Scotia.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 2 Comment 0

My legs, thank goodness, were strong and never stopped rotating the crank.  I guess my refueling strategy in Digby worked. I felt very fortunate!

MEMORY MOMENT:   I was blown off the road one time today.  I was scary too.  I was happy that only happened once.  The rest of the time I just struggled to keep from being blown into traffic.

Heart 3 Comment 0

At 4:45 pm (0ver 8 hours later) the miles and I reach the destination point, LakeLawn B&B Motel, where I started 28 days earlier.

Thoughts about the tour will have to wait my coconut cream pie is waiting, plus mind has to catch up with my body!

Still curious what these are....
Heart 3 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 1,008 miles (1,622 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Tamora StumGlad you made it!!! Hope I helped a little to keep you going hubby...xoxoxo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithCongratulations on completing your tour of Nova Scotia - quite an accomplishment and a long way to travel alone.
We decided not to ride today because of the strong winds. We had 20 mph with gusts to 30 mph here. It was too windy to be comfortable on our balcony but it was a wonderful day to enjoy our room and watch the river from inside.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you! I hope never yo ride like that for a while.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Tamora StumYou did, you were always there when I called, thank you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago