DAY 16 - CAPE NORTH - HIGHLAND HOSTEL - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2022

DAY 16 - CAPE NORTH - HIGHLAND HOSTEL

Day 16 - 7:00 am - on the road from Ingonish traveling north on the Cabot Trail.  My camping friends Haina and James, told me about a secret side road (coastal) to avoid a long climb, so I am considering it.

Heart 1 Comment 0

As I left Ingonish I was planning on getting food.  I passed one place that smelled like breakfast, but thought, "....aw go a little further....get in some miles before stopping...."

Well, that turned out as maybe NOT the correct decision as nothing ever came along for many rolling  miles!  I now knew not stopping was a bad decision!

Anyway, didn't stop much, but did for this image - it was on a "side".

Heart 4 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerThe morning story made me laugh- you should know better!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

How cool right.

Then I saw this inspirational sign.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerYes! Congrats man!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you, I’ll be heading south soon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The next decision, should I take the alternate route and avoid the mountain climb.....ummmm.  GPS timer said the side route would take 14 minutes more, so I did it.

Heart 2 Comment 3
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerI was really hungry then…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Tamora StumHealthy goodies...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

At Neil's Harbour I found a lighthouse and COOP (market) and was so, so inspired.

Refueled with coffee and stuff I was ready to roll.  That is when a local guy came over and said, God Bless You." 

He was impressed with my journey.  He said there's nothing more along this road, but it is scenic!   " You have one big hill right around the corner after that, good to go....". 

Again, I was blessed just 20 feet up the road by this beautiful little church.

Heart 3 Comment 0

Here are some images along the scenic go to go route.  (It rolled like a stumping bronco the entire way.). Enjoy the views it doesn't tell the whole truth.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm convinced I can't share the nature's beauty so you would enjoy it like I did, but... It is nice trying!

Heart 3 Comment 0
After the rolling and climbing I came across Heaven - real food served by friendly folk. Welcome to Danena's!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerWhat character!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I learned this little piece of Heaven.....

A short distance - probably uphill to the Highland Hostel or busy...

Update: Stay Flexible the hostel was full so I met Monique at the Museum and made friends.   She said you can stay outback if you want.  YES.  

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 3
Tamora StumAnother little house for hubby... Cute Set up.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerIt was right….it had a brick floor and I didn’t even use my inflatable Matt….hehehe
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 668 miles (1,075 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerGreat job adapting.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerThanks, that was the hostel in a church really wanted to stay thereā€¦.second best place and made a new friend
Reply to this comment
1 year ago